Hennepin County, Minnesota Records

Hennepin County, Minnesota (Map It) was created on March 6, 1852 (Organized in 1852) from Dakota County. The county was named in honor of Father Louis Hennepin (1626-1705), Franciscan missionary, author and explorer. Explored large section of Mississippi River and named Falls of St. Anthony, 1680.

Hennepin County is bordered by Anoka County (northeast), Ramsey County (east), Dakota County (southeast), Scott County (south), Carver County (southwest), Wright County (northwest).

Hennepin County Cities and Towns include Bloomington, Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Champlin, Chanhassen, Corcoran, Crystal, Dayton, Deephaven, Eden Prairie, Edina, Excelsior, Golden Valley, Greenfield, Greenwood, Hanover‡, Hopkins, Independence, Long Lake, Loretto, Maple Grove, Maple Plain, Medicine Lake, Medina, Minneapolis, Minnetonka, Minnetonka Beach, Minnetrista, Mound, New Hope, Orono, Osseo, Plymouth, Richfield, Robbinsdale, Rockford‡, Rogers, Shorewood, Spring Park, St. Anthony Village, St. Bonifacius, St. Louis Park, Tonka Bay, Wayzata, Woodland.

Hennepin County Townships include Hassan Townships.

A Map of Hennepin County, Minnesota contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Hennepin County, Minnesota Courthouse Records

Hennepin County, Minnesota Courthouse
  • Save

Hennepin County, MN Courthouse
Old Hennepin County, Minnesota Courthouse
  • Save

Old Hennepin County Courthouse

The Hennepin County Courthouse is located in Minneapolis, Minnesota. At some time Hennepin County was attached to Ramsey County for county and or judicial purposes. Some early records may be found there. Learn More About State of Minnesota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Hennepin county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Hennepin County Recorder has Birth / Death Records from 1870, Marriage Records from 1853 and Land Records from 1848. The County Recorder is responsible for all the real estate records for properties located in the County. Permanent records of deeds, mortgages and other various real estate records are recorded/filed in this office. As Local Registrar, the office protects and issues certified copies of Birth and Death records, Marriage Certificates & Military Discharge Records.
  • Hennepin County Court Administrator has Probate Records from 1855 and Court Records from 1853. The County Court Administrator maintains court files for Civil, Criminal, Traffic, Probate, Conciliation, Juvenile, Tax and Family Court matters.
  • Hennepin County Treasurers Office is responsible for keeping a complete accounting of all monies collected and expended by all the county departments. This includes the investing of available funds and accurately distributing the interest received. The department is also responsible for the collection of taxes and distribution to the various taxing entities within the County.

Hennepin County, Minnesota Census Records

Hennepin County, Minnesota Vital Records

Hennepin County, Minnesota Resources

Hennepin County, Minnesota External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save