Whitley County, Indiana Records

Whitley County, Indiana (Map It) was created on January 29, 1839 from Unorganized Land. This county was named for Col. William Whitley,  hero of the Battle of Tippecanoe.

Whitley County is bordered by  Noble County (north), Allen County (east), Huntington County (south), Wabash County (southwest), Kosciusko County (west).

Whitley County Cities and Towns include  Churubusco, Columbia City, Larwill, South Whitley.

Whitley County Townships include  Cleveland, Columbia, Etna-Troy, Jefferson, Richland, Smith, Thorncreek, Union, Washington. See Map of Whitley County Townships.

MapGeeks.org has is a collection of old Indiana maps.

Whitley County, Indiana Courthouse Records

Whitley County, Indiana Courthouse
  • Save

Whitley County, IN Courthouse

The Whitley County Courthouse is located in Columbia City, Indiana. Learn More About State of Indiana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Whitley county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Whitley County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1838, Probate Records from 1839 and Court Records from 1882. The County Clerk responsiblities include administering Court Records of all Court Cases, prepares the Court's permanent historical record, performs marriage ceremonies, process marriage applications and issue marriage licenses, processes and distributes documents for court cases, and keeps a record of all wills and matters of trust in probate proceedings.
  • Whitley County Recorder has Land Records from 1813. The County Recorder maintains, preserves and Records Deeds, Mortgages, Assignments, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Real Estate Contracts, Annexations, Trustee Elections, Affidavits, Final Decrees, Surveys, Federal Tax Liens, Mechanics Liens, Military Discharges, Articles of Incorporation, Cemetery Deeds, Bonds, Plats, Condominiums, Firms Doing Business Under Assumed Names, Delinquent Sewer Liens, and Miscellaneous Instruments.
  • Whitley County Treasurer's Office is responsible for collecting taxes. The treasurer also receives distributions of local income and other taxes that are collected by the state such as real estate tax, personal property tax, mobile home tax, state assessed tax, and the following miscellaneous taxes: auto excise tax, inheritance tax, and innkeeper's tax.
  • Whitley County Department of Health has Birth & Death Records from 1882. The County Department of Health maintains and provides Certified Birth and Death Records.

Whitley County, Indiana Census Records

Whitley County, Indiana Vital Records

Whitley County, Indiana Resources

Whitley County, Indiana External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save