Huntington County, Indiana Records

Huntington County, Indiana (Map It) was created on December 2, 1834 from Adams New Purchase and Unorganized Land. This county was named for Samuel Huntington, signer the Declaration of Independence.

Huntington County is bordered by  Whitley County (north), Allen County (northeast), Wells County (east), Grant County (south), Wabash County (west).

Huntington County Cities and Towns include  Andrews, Banquo, Bippus, Goblesville, Huntington, Lancaster, Majenica, Markle, Mount Etna, Plum Tree, Indiana, Roanoke, Warren.

Huntington County Townships include  Clear Creek, Dallas, Huntington, Jackson, Jefferson, Lancaster, Polk, Rock Creek, Salamonie, Union, Warren, Wayne. See Map of Huntington County Townships. has is a collection of old Indiana maps.

Huntington County, Indiana Courthouse Records

Huntington County, Indiana Courthouse
  • Save

Huntington County, IN Courthouse

The Huntington County Courthouse is located in Huntington, Indiana. Learn More About State of Indiana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Huntington county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Huntington County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1837, Probate Records from 1841 and Court Records from ?. The County Clerk responsiblities include administering Court Records of all Court Cases, prepares the Court's permanent historical record, performs marriage ceremonies, process marriage applications and issue marriage licenses, processes and distributes documents for court cases, and keeps a record of all wills and matters of trust in probate proceedings.
  • Huntington County Recorder has Land Records from 1834. The County Recorder maintains, preserves and Records Deeds, Mortgages, Assignments, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Real Estate Contracts, Annexations, Trustee Elections, Affidavits, Final Decrees, Surveys, Federal Tax Liens, Mechanics Liens, Military Discharges, Articles of Incorporation, Cemetery Deeds, Bonds, Plats, Condominiums, Firms Doing Business Under Assumed Names, Delinquent Sewer Liens, and Miscellaneous Instruments.
  • Huntington County Treasurer's Office is responsible for collecting taxes. The treasurer also receives distributions of local income and other taxes that are collected by the state such as real estate tax, personal property tax, mobile home tax, state assessed tax, and the following miscellaneous taxes: auto excise tax, inheritance tax, and innkeeper's tax.
  • Huntington County Department of Health has Birth & Death Records from 1882. The County Department of Health maintains and provides Certified Birth and Death Records.

Huntington County, Indiana Census Records

Huntington County, Indiana Vital Records

Huntington County, Indiana Resources

Huntington County, Indiana External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save