Wabash County, Indiana Records

Wabash County, Indiana (Map It) was created on March 1, 1835 from Adams New Purchase and Unorganized Land. Wabash County was named for the Wabash River.

Wabash County is bordered by  Kosciusko County (north), Whitley County (northeast), Huntington County (east), Grant County (south), Miami County (west), Fulton County (northwest).

Wabash County Cities and Towns include  La Fontaine, Lagro, Liberty Mills, North Manchester, Roann, Wabash.

Wabash County Townships include  Chester, Lagro, Liberty, Noble, Paw Paw, Pleasant, Waltz. See Map of Wabash County Townships.

MapGeeks.org has is a collection of old Indiana maps.

Wabash County, Indiana Courthouse Records

Wabash County, Indiana Courthouse
  • Save

Wabash County, IN Courthouse

The Wabash County Courthouse is located in Wabash, Indiana. Courthouse destroyed by Fire in Apr. 1870, Saved: treasurer's, auditor's, recorder's and clerk's records. Learn More About State of Indiana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Wabash county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Wabash County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1835, Probate Records from 1847 and Court Records from ?. The County Clerk responsiblities include administering Court Records of all Court Cases, prepares the Court's permanent historical record, performs marriage ceremonies, process marriage applications and issue marriage licenses, processes and distributes documents for court cases, and keeps a record of all wills and matters of trust in probate proceedings.
  • Wabash County Recorder has Land Records from 1835. The County Recorder maintains, preserves and Records Deeds, Mortgages, Assignments, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Real Estate Contracts, Annexations, Trustee Elections, Affidavits, Final Decrees, Surveys, Federal Tax Liens, Mechanics Liens, Military Discharges, Articles of Incorporation, Cemetery Deeds, Bonds, Plats, Condominiums, Firms Doing Business Under Assumed Names, Delinquent Sewer Liens, and Miscellaneous Instruments.
  • Wabash County Treasurer's Office is responsible for collecting taxes. The treasurer also receives distributions of local income and other taxes that are collected by the state such as real estate tax, personal property tax, mobile home tax, state assessed tax, and the following miscellaneous taxes: auto excise tax, inheritance tax, and innkeeper's tax.
  • Wabash County Department of Health has Birth & Death Records from 1899. The County Department of Health maintains and provides Certified Birth and Death Records.

Wabash County, Indiana Census Records

Wabash County, Indiana Vital Records

Wabash County, Indiana Resources

Wabash County, Indiana External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save