LaGrange County, Indiana Records

LaGrange County, Indiana (Map It) was created on April 1, 1832 from Unorganized Land. This county was named for the ancestral estate of the Marquis de la Fayette, the French-born hero of the American Revolutionary War.

LaGrange County is bordered by  St. Joseph County, Michigan (northwest), Branch County, Michigan (northeast), Steuben County (east), Noble County (south), Elkhart County (west).

LaGrange County Cities and Towns include  LaGrange, Shipshewana, and Topeka.

LaGrange County Townships include   Bloomfield, Clay, Clearspring, Eden, Greenfield, Johnson, Lima, Milford, Newbury, Springfield, and Van Buren. See Map of LaGrange County Townships. has is a collection of old Indiana maps.

LaGrange County, Indiana Courthouse Records

LaGrange County, Indiana Courthouse
  • Save

LaGrange County, IN Courthouse

The LaGrange County Courthouse is located in LaGrange, Indiana. Learn More About State of Indiana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in LaGrange county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • LaGrange County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1832, Probate Records from 1832 and Court Records from 1832. The County Clerk responsiblities include administering Court Records of all Court Cases, prepares the Court's permanent historical record, performs marriage ceremonies, process marriage applications and issue marriage licenses, processes and distributes documents for court cases, and keeps a record of all wills and matters of trust in probate proceedings.
  • LaGrange County Recorder has Land Records from 1832. The County Recorder maintains, preserves and Records Deeds, Mortgages, Assignments, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Real Estate Contracts, Annexations, Trustee Elections, Affidavits, Final Decrees, Surveys, Federal Tax Liens, Mechanics Liens, Military Discharges, Articles of Incorporation, Cemetery Deeds, Bonds, Plats, Condominiums, Firms Doing Business Under Assumed Names, Delinquent Sewer Liens, and Miscellaneous Instruments.
  • LaGrange County Treasurer's Office is responsible for collecting taxes. The treasurer also receives distributions of local income and other taxes that are collected by the state such as real estate tax, personal property tax, mobile home tax, state assessed tax, and the following miscellaneous taxes: auto excise tax, inheritance tax, and innkeeper's tax.
  • LaGrange County Department of Health has Birth & Death Records from 1882. The County Department of Health maintains and provides Certified Birth and Death Records.

LaGrange County, Indiana Census Records

LaGrange County, Indiana Vital Records

LaGrange County, Indiana Resources

LaGrange County, Indiana External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save