Elkhart County, Indiana Records

Elkhart County, Indiana (Map It) was created on April 1, 1830 from Unorganized Land. Elkhart County was named for Disputed, but possibly the Elkhart Native American people .

Elkhart County is bordered by  St. Joseph County, Michigan (northeast), LaGrange County (east), Noble County (southeast), Kosciusko County (south), Marshall County (southwest), St. Joseph County (west), Cass County, Michigan (northwest).

Elkhart County Cities and Towns include  Elkhart, Goshen, Nappanee, Bristol, Dunlap, Middlebury, Millersburg, New Paris, Simonton Lake, Wakarusa.

Elkhart County Townships include  Baugo, Benton, Cleveland, Clinton, Concord, Elkhart, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Locke, Middlebury, Olive, Osolo, Union, Washington, York. See Map of Elkhart County Townships.

MapGeeks.org has is a collection of old Indiana maps.

Elkhart County, Indiana Courthouse Records

Elkhart County, Indiana Courthouse
  • Save

Elkhart County, IN Courthouse

The Elkhart County Courthouse is located in Goshen, Indiana. Learn More About State of Indiana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Elkhart county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Elkhart County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1830, Probate Records from 1830 and Court Records from 1830. The County Clerk responsiblities include administering Court Records of all Court Cases, prepares the Court's permanent historical record, performs marriage ceremonies, process marriage applications and issue marriage licenses, processes and distributes documents for court cases, and keeps a record of all wills and matters of trust in probate proceedings.
  • Elkhart County Recorder has Land Records from 1831. The County Recorder maintains, preserves and Records Deeds, Mortgages, Assignments, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Real Estate Contracts, Annexations, Trustee Elections, Affidavits, Final Decrees, Surveys, Federal Tax Liens, Mechanics Liens, Military Discharges, Articles of Incorporation, Cemetery Deeds, Bonds, Plats, Condominiums, Firms Doing Business Under Assumed Names, Delinquent Sewer Liens, and Miscellaneous Instruments.
  • Elkhart County Treasurer's Office is responsible for collecting taxes. The treasurer also receives distributions of local income and other taxes that are collected by the state such as real estate tax, personal property tax, mobile home tax, state assessed tax, and the following miscellaneous taxes: auto excise tax, inheritance tax, and innkeeper's tax.
  • Elkhart County Department of Health has Birth & Death Records from 1882. The County Department of Health maintains and provides Certified Birth and Death Records.

Elkhart County, Indiana Census Records

Elkhart County, Indiana Vital Records

Elkhart County, Indiana Resources

Elkhart County, Indiana External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save