Mississippi County, Arkansas Records

Mississippi County, Arkansas (Map It) was created on November 1, 1833 and was formed from Crittenden County. Parts of Mississippi County were used to form the following counties: Craighead 1859.

Other county boundry changes occured when Part of Crittenden annexed 18 January 1861. Mississippi County was named for the the Mississippi River.

Mississippi County is bordered by Dunklin County, Missouri (northwest), Pemiscot County, Missouri (north), Dyer County, Tennessee (northeast), Lauderdale County, Tennessee (east), Tipton County, Tennessee (southeast), Crittenden County (south), Poinsett County (southwest), Craighead County (west).

Mississippi County Cities and Towns include Bassett, Birdsong, Blytheville, Burdette, Dell, Dyess, Etowah, Gosnell, Joiner, Keiser, Leachville, Luxora, Manila, Marie, Osceola, Victoria, Wilson.

A Map of Mississippi County, Arkansas contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries..

There is a collection of old Arizona maps at MapGeeks.org

Mississippi County, Arkansas Courthouse Records

Mississippi County, Arkansas Courthouse in Blytheville
  • Save

Mississippi County, AR Courthouse
in Blytheville

Mississippi County, Arkansas Courthouse in Osceola
  • Save

Mississippi County, AR Courthouse
in Osceola

The Mississippi County Courthouse is located in Blytheville, Arkansas and Osceola, Arkansas. Arkansas History Commission information shows record loss from a courthouse fire in 1865. Learn More About State of Arkansas Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Mississippi county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Mississippi County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1865, Land Records from 1844 and Divorce Records are maintained among the equity records (Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found  at the Arkansas Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court is the clerk of the circuit, chancery court, and juvenile court and usually acts as the ex-officio recorder of the county. The duties of the clerk are to maintain a record of all proceedings of the circuit, chancery and juvenile courts and to prepare the dockets for courts. They are also the ex-officio county recorder; and is responsible for recording deeds, mortgages, liens, and surety bonds, and many other orders and instruments which involve property within the county.
  • Mississippi County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1867 and has Probate Records from 1865. The County Clerk, as clerk to the probate court, the clerk files all instruments making them a matter of record in descendent estate cases, and swears in all witnesses in contested estates. The clerk, also in this capacity, maintains all records relative to adoptions and guardianship cases.
  • Mississippi County Assessor's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Mississippi County Health Department

Mississippi County, Arkansas Census Records

Mississippi County, Arkansas Vital Records

Mississippi County, Arkansas Resources

Mississippi County, Arkansas External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save