Lafayette County, Arkansas Records

Lafayette County, Arkansas (Map It) was created on October 15, 1827 and was formed from Hempstead County. Parts of Lafayette County was used to form the following counties: Columbia 1852, Miller 1874.

Other county boundry changes occured when Line with Union defined 26 November 1846, part of Columbia annexed 29 April 1901. Lafayette County was named in honor of Marquis de la Fayette (1757–1834), a Frenchman who served as a General in the Continental Army during the Revolutionary War.

Lafayette County is bordered by Hempstead County (north), Nevada County (northeast), Columbia County (east), Webster Parish, Louisiana (southeast), Bossier Parish, Louisiana (south), Caddo Parish, Louisiana (southwest), Miller County (west).

Lafayette County Cities and Towns include Bradley, Buckner, Lewisville, Stamps.

A Map of Lafayette County, Arkansas contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries..

There is a collection of old Arizona maps at

Lafayette County, Arkansas Courthouse Records

Lafayette County, Arkansas Courthouse
  • Save

Lafayette County, AR Courthouse

The Lafayette County Courthouse is located in Lewisville, Arkansas. Records extant from 1827 and in good condition. Learn More About State of Arkansas Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Lafayette county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Lafayette County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1828, Land Records from 1828 and Divorce Records are maintained among the equity records (Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found  at the Arkansas Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court is the clerk of the circuit, chancery court, and juvenile court and usually acts as the ex-officio recorder of the county. The duties of the clerk are to maintain a record of all proceedings of the circuit, chancery and juvenile courts and to prepare the dockets for courts. They are also the ex-officio county recorder; and is responsible for recording deeds, mortgages, liens, and surety bonds, and many other orders and instruments which involve property within the county.
  • Lafayette County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1828 and has Probate Records from 1828. The County Clerk, as clerk to the probate court, the clerk files all instruments making them a matter of record in descendent estate cases, and swears in all witnesses in contested estates. The clerk, also in this capacity, maintains all records relative to adoptions and guardianship cases.
  • Lafayette County Assessor's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Lafayette County Health Department

Lafayette County, Arkansas Census Records

Lafayette County, Arkansas Vital Records

Lafayette County, Arkansas Resources

Lafayette County, Arkansas External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save