Chicot County, Arkansas Records

Chicot County, Arkansas (Map It) was created on October 25, 1823 by the Territorial Legislature and was formed from Arkansas County. Parts of Chicot County was used to form the following counties: Ashley 1848, Desha 1838.

Other county boundry changes occured when Boundaries defined 2 November 1835, part attached to Drew 21 December 1846, line with Ashley changed 18 January 1861, line with Drew changed 30 November 1875, and with Desha 10 February 1879. Chicot County was named for Point Chicot on the Mississippi River.

Chicot County is bordered by Desha County (north), Washington County, Mississippi (east), Issaquena County, Mississippi (southeast), East Carroll Parish, Louisiana (south), West Carroll Parish, Louisiana (southwest), Ashley County (west), Drew County (northwest).

Chicot County Cities and Towns include Dermott, Eudora, Lake Village.

A Map of Chicot County, Arkansas contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries..

There is a collection of old Arizona maps at

Chicot County, Arkansas Courthouse Records

Chicot County, Arkansas Courthouse
  • Save

Chicot County, AR Courthouse

The Chicot County Courthouse is located in Lake Village, Arkansas. Learn More About State of Arkansas Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Chicot county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Chicot County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1824, Land Records from 1823 and Divorce Records are maintained among the equity records (Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found  at the Arkansas Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court is the clerk of the circuit, chancery court, and juvenile court and usually acts as the ex-officio recorder of the county. The duties of the clerk are to maintain a record of all proceedings of the circuit, chancery and juvenile courts and to prepare the dockets for courts. They are also the ex-officio county recorder; and is responsible for recording deeds, mortgages, liens, and surety bonds, and many other orders and instruments which involve property within the county.
  • Chicot County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1840 and has Probate Records from 1839. The County Clerk, as clerk to the probate court, the clerk files all instruments making them a matter of record in descendent estate cases, and swears in all witnesses in contested estates. The clerk, also in this capacity, maintains all records relative to adoptions and guardianship cases.
  • Chicot County Assessor's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Chicot County Health Department

Chicot County, Arkansas Census Records

Chicot County, Arkansas Vital Records

Chicot County, Arkansas Resources

Chicot County, Arkansas External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save