Barron County, Wisconsin Records

Barron County, Wisconsin (Map It) was created on March 19, 1859 from Polk County. The county was named in honor of Henry D. Barron, state senator and circuit court judge.Learn More About State of Wisconsin History

Barron County is bordered by Washburn County (north), Sawyer County (northeast), Rusk County (east), Chippewa County (southeast), Dunn County (south), St. Croix County (southwest), Polk County (west), Burnett County (northwest).

Barron County Cities, Towns and Villiages include Barron, Chetek, Cumberland, Rice Lake, Almena, Arland, Barron, Bear Lake, Cedar Lake, Chetek, Clinton, Crystal Lake, Cumberland, Dallas, Dovre, Doyle, Lakeland, Maple Grove, Maple Plain, Oak Grove, Prairie Farm, Prairie Lake, Rice Lake, Sioux Creek, Stanfold, Stanley, Sumner, Turtle Lake, Vance Creek, Almena, Cameron, Dallas, Haugen, New Auburn, Prairie Farm, Turtle Lake.

A Map of Barron County, Wisconsin contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Barron County, Wisconsin Courthouse Records

  • Save

Barron County, WI Courthouse

The Barron County Courthouse is located in Barron, Wisconsin. Learn More About State of Wisconsin Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

It has been estimated that less than 50 percent of the vital records, for example, were prepared and submitted for permanent filing prior to 1907. Land deeds, probate, and court records generally begin in Wisconsin with the organization of the county. Prior to that date, check the County or Counties it was created from. Some counties formed from other counties transcribed their portion of property deeds to be kept with the new county deed records. Barron County was attached to Polk County for county and judicial purposes from 1859 to 1860; Dunn County from 1860 to 1868 and for judicial purposes from 1868 to 1874. Some early records may be found there.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Barron county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Barron County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1877, Marriage Records from 1868, Death Records from 1877 and Land Records from 1870. The purpose of the Register of Deeds is to provide official record keeping for Records or files land record documents authorized by law, such as deeds, mortgages, satisfactions, certified survey maps, plats and Federal Tax liens. Files and indexes Birth, Death and Marriage records, Military Discharges, and issues certified copies upon request.
  • Barron County Register in Probate Office has Probate Records from 1880. The Probate Office has the responsibility to maintain and update files regarding probate of estates, guardianships, protective placements, adoptions and mental commitments. This is a statutory office with the position of Register in Probate filled by judicial appointment.
  • Barron County Clerk of Court Office has Court Records from 1874. The Clerk of Court Office is required to maintain a record of all documents filed with the courts, keep a record of all court proceedings, and collect various fines and forfeitures ordered by the court and specified by statute.
  • Barron County Treasurers Office collects all real estate taxes including postponed and delinquent, all county revenues in addition to the research and issue tax deed applications. Our department is the holder of tax records and assessed values.

Barron County, Wisconsin Census Records

Barron County, Wisconsin Vital Records

Barron County, Wisconsin Resources

Barron County, Wisconsin External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save