Polk County, Wisconsin Records

Polk County, Wisconsin (Map It) was created on December 7, 1836 from St. Croix County. The county was named in honor of James Polk (1795-1849), President of the United States (1845-1849).

Polk County is bordered by Burnett County (north), Barron County (east), Dunn County (southeast), St. Croix County (south), Washington County, Minnesota (southwest), Chisago County, Minnesota (west).

Polk County Cities, Towns and Villiages include Amery, St. Croix Falls, Alden, Apple River, Beaver, Black Brook, Bone Lake, Clam Falls, Clayton, Clear Lake, Eureka, Farmington, Garfield, Georgetown, Johnstown, Laketown, Lincoln, Lorain, McKinley, Sterling, West Sweden, Ubet, Balsam Lake, Centuria, Clayton, Clear Lake, Dresser, Frederic, Luck, Milltown, Osceola.

A Map of Polk County, Wisconsin contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Polk County, Wisconsin Courthouse Records

  • Save

Polk County, WI Courthouse

  • Save

Old Polk County, WI Courthouse

The Polk County Courthouse is located in Stevens Point, Wisconsin. Learn More About State of Wisconsin Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

It has been estimated that less than 50 percent of the vital records, for example, were prepared and submitted for permanent filing prior to 1907. Land deeds, probate, and court records generally begin in Wisconsin with the organization of the county. Prior to that date, check the County or Counties it was created from. Some counties formed from other counties transcribed their portion of property deeds to be kept with the new county deed records.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Polk county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Polk County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1867, Marriage Records from 1855, Death Records from 1865 and Land Records from 1853. The purpose of the Register of Deeds is to provide official record keeping for Records or files land record documents authorized by law, such as deeds, mortgages, satisfactions, certified survey maps, plats and Federal Tax liens. Files and indexes Birth, Death and Marriage records, Military Discharges, and issues certified copies upon request.
  • Polk County Register in Probate Office has Probate Records from 1855. The Probate Office has the responsibility to maintain and update files regarding probate of estates, guardianships, protective placements, adoptions and mental commitments. This is a statutory office with the position of Register in Probate filled by judicial appointment.
  • Polk County Clerk of Court Office has Court Records from 1859. The Clerk of Court Office is required to maintain a record of all documents filed with the courts, keep a record of all court proceedings, and collect various fines and forfeitures ordered by the court and specified by statute.
  • Polk County Treasurers Office collects all real estate taxes including postponed and delinquent, all county revenues in addition to the research and issue tax deed applications. Our department is the holder of tax records and assessed values.

Polk County, Wisconsin Census Records

Polk County, Wisconsin Vital Records

Polk County, Wisconsin Resources

Polk County, Wisconsin External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save