Pocahontas County, West Virginia Records

Pocahontas County, West Virginia (Map It) was created on December 21, 1821 from portions of Bath County, Virginia, Pendleton County and Randolph County . The county was named in honor of Pocahontas (1595-1617), the Indian princess who assisted early English settlers and was the daughter of Chief Powhatan, the King of the Confederated tribes.

Pocahontas County is bordered by Randolph County (north), Pendleton County (northeast), Highland County, Virginia (east), Bath County, Virginia (southeast), Greenbrier County (southwest), Webster County (northwest).

A Map of Pocahontas County, West Virginia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Pocahontas County Cities and Towns include Arbovale, Bartow, Buckeye, Cass, Droop, Dunmore, Durbin, Green Bank, Hillsboro, Marlinton, Mill Point, Minnehaha Springs, Seebert, Slatyfork, Snowshoe, Stony Bottom

Pocahontas County, West Virginia Courthouse Records

Pocahontas County, West Virginia Courthouse
  • Save

Pocahontas County, WV Courthouse

The Pocahontas County Courthouse is located in Marlinton, West Virginia. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Pocahontas county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk. Until 1863 West Virginia was part of Virginia, See Virginia State Records for Info and links for years prior to 1863.

Pocahontas County, West Virginia Census Records

Pocahontas County, West Virginia Vital Records

Pocahontas County, West Virginia Resources

Pocahontas County, West Virginia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save