Hardy County, West Virginia Records

Hardy County, West Virginia (Map It) was created on December 10, 1785 from portions of Hampshire County (organized in February 1786). The county was named in honor of Samuel Hardy (1758-1785), a Virginia delegate to the Continental Congress.

Hardy County is bordered by Hampshire County (north), Frederick County, Virginia (east), Shenandoah County, Virginia (southeast), Rockingham County, Virginia (south), Pendleton County (southwest), Grant County (west).

A Map of Hardy County, West Virginia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Hardy County Cities and Towns include Baker, Fisher, Lost City, Lost River, Mathias, Milam, Moorefield, Old Fields, Rig, Wardensville

Hardy County, West Virginia Courthouse Records

Hardy County, West Virginia Courthouse
  • Save

Hardy County, WV Courthouse

The Hardy County Courthouse is located in Moorefield, West Virginia. It was originally chartered in 1777 and named for Conrad Moore, who owned the land upon which the town was laid out. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Hardy county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk. Until 1863 West Virginia was part of Virginia, See Virginia State Records for Info and links for years prior to 1863.

Hardy County, West Virginia Census Records

Hardy County, West Virginia Vital Records

Hardy County, West Virginia Resources

Hardy County, West Virginia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save