Shenandoah County, Virginia Records

Shenandoah County, Virginia (Map It) was created in 1772 from Frederick County. The County was originally named Dunmore County and was renamed in January 12, 1778. Shenandoah county was named for the Shenandoah River.

Shenandoah County is bordered by Hardy County, West Virginia (northwest), Frederick County (northeast), Warren County (east), Page County (southeast), Rockingham County (southwest).

Shenandoah County Cities and Towns include Strasburg, Toms Brook, Woodstock, Edinburg, Mount Jackson and New Market . has is a collection of old Virginia maps.

Shenandoah County, Virginia Courthouse Records

Shenandoah County, VA Courthouse
  • Save

Shenandoah County, VA Courthouse

The Shenandoah County Courthouse is located in Woodstock, Virginia. Woodstock is the county seat for Shenandoah County. The cornerstone states the courthouse was built in 1795 and is the oldest still in use west of the Blue Ridge Mountains. 

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH . Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The Shenandoah County record dates below are from the earliest date to present time. They may include records of land, estates, taxes, vital records, divorces, naturalizations, voter registration, military discharges and court records.

Includes records of Dunmore (1772—78).

Shenandoah County, Virginia Census Records

Shenandoah County, Virginia Vital Records

Shenandoah County, Virginia Resources

Shenandoah County, Virginia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save