Pittsylvania County, Virginia Records

Pittsylvania County, Virginia (Map It) was created in December 15, 1766 from Halifax County. Pittsylvania county was named for the the 1st Earl of Chatham, William Pitt (1708-1778). Pitt was serving as Great Britain's Prime Minister at the time Pittsylvania County was organized..

Pittsylvania County is bordered by Bedford County (northwest), Campbell County (northeast), Halifax County (east), Caswell County, North Carolina (southeast), Rockingham County, North Carolina (southwest), Henry County (west/southwest), Franklin County (west/northwest).

Pittsylvania County Cities and Towns include Chatham, Gretna and Hurt. Although Danville is within the boundaries of Pittsylvania County, it is not a part of the county. Since it is incorporated as a city, it is an independent city under Virginia law. .

MapGeeks.org has is a collection of old Virginia maps.

Pittsylvania County, Virginia Courthouse Records

Pittsylvania County, VA Courthouse
  • Save

Pittsylvania County, VA Courthouse

The Pittsylvania County Courthouse is located in Chatham, Virginia.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH . Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The Pittsylvania County record dates below are from the earliest date to present time. They may include records of land, estates, taxes, vital records, divorces, naturalizations, voter registration, military discharges and court records.

Pittsylvania County, Virginia Census Records

Pittsylvania County, Virginia Vital Records

Pittsylvania County, Virginia Resources

Pittsylvania County, Virginia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save