Sioux County, Nebraska Records

Sioux County, Nebraska (Map It) was created on February 19, 1877 from Unorganized area of the Nebraska Territory. The county was named for the Sioux Native American tribe.

Sioux County is bordered by Fall_River County, South Dakota  (north), Box_Butte County  (east), Dawes County  (east), Scotts_Bluff County  (south), Goshen County, Wyoming  (southwest), Niobrara County, Wyoming  (northwest).

Sioux County Cities and Towns include Harrison.

A Map of Sioux County, Nebraska contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Sioux County, Nebraska Courthouse Records

Sioux County, Nebraska Courthouse
  • Save

Sioux County, NE Courthouse

The Sioux County Courthouse is located in Harrison, Nebraska. Learn More About State of Nebraska Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Sioux county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Attached to Cheyenne County for administrative purposes until 1886. Boundaries defined in 1877.

  • Sioux County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1887. The County Clerk is responsible for Marriage Licenses and can also be expected to hold delayed birth registrations. Other records of interest to the researcher include military discharges, voter registrations, estray notices, marks and brands, physician’s registers, farm and ranch names, and school registers.
  • Sioux County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1882. The County Register of Deeds is responsible for maintaining and securing the land records of the county. The duties include preserving of old land records and maintaining records that have been recorded which include, warranty deeds, mortgages, deeds of trust, plats and any other documents that affect a specific piece of land in the county.
  • Sioux Clerk of Courts has Probate Records from 1908 and Court Records from 1886. The Clerk of Courts duties include misdemeanor cases, including preliminary hearing in felony cases, civil cases involving less than $45,000, small claims involving less than 1886,400, probate, guardianship, conservatorship, adoption, and eminent domain and function as juvenile courts.

Sioux County, Nebraska Census Records

Sioux County, Nebraska Vital Records

Sioux County, Nebraska Resources

Sioux County, Nebraska External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save