Bolivar County, Mississippi Records

Bolivar County, Mississippi (Map It) was created on February 9, 1836 from Tallahatchie County and Washington County. The county was named in honor of Simon Bolivar, South American democratic revolutionary .

Bolivar County is bordered by Coahoma County (north), Sunflower County (east), Washington County (south) and Desha County, Arkansas (west).

Bolivar County Cities and Towns include Cleveland, Rosedale, Mound Bayou, Shaw, Shelby, Benoit, Beulah, Boyle, Duncan, Gunnison, Merigold, Pace, Renova, Winstonville, Alligator.

A Map of Bolivar County, Mississippi contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Bolivar County, Mississippi Courthouse Records

Bolivar County, Mississippi Courthouse
  • Save

Bolivar County, MS Courthouse

The Bolivar County Courthouse is located in Cleveland, Mississippi and Rosedale, Mississippi. The County Courthouse was burned by Federals in 1863 and entombed by flood in 1865. Learn More About State of Mississippi Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Bolivar county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Bolivar County Chancery Court Clerk has Land Records from 1836, Probate Records from 1861? and Divorce Records from see Clerk. The County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records.
  • Bolivar County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1866 and Court Records from 1836. The County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
  • Bolivar County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.
  • Bolivar County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

Bolivar County, Mississippi Census Records

Bolivar County, Mississippi Vital Records

Bolivar County, Mississippi Resources

Bolivar County, Mississippi External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save