Tallahatchie County, Mississippi Records

Tallahatchie County, Mississippi (Map It) was created on December 31, 1833 from Washington County and Yazoo County. The county was named for the Tallahatchie River.

Tallahatchie County is bordered by Quitman County (north), Panola County (northeast), Yalobusha County (east), Grenada County (southeast), Leflore County (south), Sunflower County (southwest) and Coahoma County (northwest).

Tallahatchie County Cities and Towns include Charleston, Sumner, Tutwiler, Webb, Glendora.

A Map of Tallahatchie County, Mississippi contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Tallahatchie County, Mississippi Courthouse Records

Tallahatchie County, Mississippi Courthouse
  • Save

Tallahatchie County, MS Courthouse

The Tallahatchie County Courthouse is located in Charleston, Mississippi and Sumner, Mississippi. The first court house was built in 1902 and destroyed by fire in 1908. The records were saved, but in 1909 the entire business section of the town burned and all records were destroyed. Learn More About State of Mississippi Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Tallahatchie county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Tallahatchie County Chancery Court Clerk has Land Records from 1835, Probate Records from 1834 and Divorce Records from see Clerk. The County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records.
  • Tallahatchie County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1856 and Court Records from 1841. The County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
  • Tallahatchie County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.
  • Tallahatchie County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

Tallahatchie County, Mississippi Census Records

Tallahatchie County, Mississippi Vital Records

Tallahatchie County, Mississippi Resources

Tallahatchie County, Mississippi External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save