Quitman County, Mississippi Records

Quitman County, Mississippi (Map It) was created on February 1, 1877 from Panola County, Coahoma County, Tunica County and Tallahatchie County. The county was named in honor of John A. Quitman, Governor of Mississippi .

Quitman County is bordered by Tunica County (north), Panola County (east), Tallahatchie County (south) and Coahoma County (west).

Quitman County Cities and Towns include Marks, Crenshaw, Crowder, Falcon, Lambert, Sledge.

A Map of Quitman County, Mississippi contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Quitman County, Mississippi Courthouse Records

Quitman County, Mississippi Courthouse
  • Save

Quitman County, MS Courthouse

The Quitman County Courthouse is located in Marks, Mississippi. Learn More About State of Mississippi Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Quitman county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Quitman County Chancery Court Clerk has Land Records from 1877, Probate Records from 1878 and Divorce Records from see Clerk. The County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records.
  • Quitman County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1877 and Court Records from 1878. The County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
  • Quitman County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.
  • Quitman County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

Quitman County, Mississippi Census Records

  • Learn More: State of Mississippi Census Records
  • U.S. Federal Population Schedules: 1880 (free index), 1890 (fragmented), 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940
  • U.S. Census Reconstructed Records: None
  • State Population Schedules: None
  • U.S. Federal Census Slave Schedules: None
  • U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules: 1880
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Agriculture Schedules: 1880
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Industry Schedules: 1880
  • Union Veterans Schedules: 1890

Quitman County, Mississippi Vital Records

Quitman County, Mississippi Resources

Quitman County, Mississippi External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save