Cottonwood County, Minnesota Records

Cottonwood County, Minnesota (Map It) was created on May 23, 1857 (Organized in 1873) from Brown County. The county was named for the Cottonwood River. Cottonwood is a translation of Waraju, the Dakota name for the river, reflecting the abundance of the tree on its banks.

Cottonwood County is bordered by Redwood County (north), Brown County (northeast), Watonwan County (east), Martin County (southeast), Jackson County (south), Nobles County (southwest), Murray County (west).

Cottonwood County Cities and Towns include Bingham Lake, Comfrey, Jeffers, Mountain Lake, Storden, Westbrook, Windom.

Cottonwood County Townships include Amboy, Amo, Ann, Carson, Dale, Delton, Germantown, Great Bend, Highwater, Lakeside, Midway, Mountain Lake, Rose Hill, Selma, Southbrook, Springfield, Storden, Westbrook Townships.

A Map of Cottonwood County, Minnesota contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Cottonwood County, Minnesota Courthouse Records

Cottonwood County, Minnesota Courthouse
  • Save

Cottonwood County, MN Courthouse

The Cottonwood County Courthouse is located in Windom, Minnesota. At some time Cottonwood County was attached to Redwood County and Watonwan County for county and or judicial purposes. Some early records may be found there. Learn More About State of Minnesota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Cottonwood county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Cottonwood County Recorder has Birth / Death Records from 1871, Marriage Records from 1871 and Land Records from 1871. The County Recorder is responsible for all the real estate records for properties located in the County. Permanent records of deeds, mortgages and other various real estate records are recorded/filed in this office. As Local Registrar, the office protects and issues certified copies of Birth and Death records, Marriage Certificates & Military Discharge Records.
  • Cottonwood County Court Administrator has Probate Records from 1871 and Court Records from 1871. The County Court Administrator maintains court files for Civil, Criminal, Traffic, Probate, Conciliation, Juvenile, Tax and Family Court matters.
  • Cottonwood County Treasurers Office is responsible for keeping a complete accounting of all monies collected and expended by all the county departments. This includes the investing of available funds and accurately distributing the interest received. The department is also responsible for the collection of taxes and distribution to the various taxing entities within the County.

Cottonwood County, Minnesota Census Records

Cottonwood County, Minnesota Vital Records

Cottonwood County, Minnesota Resources

Cottonwood County, Minnesota External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save