Watonwan County, Minnesota Records

Watonwan County, Minnesota (Map It) was created on November 6, 1860 (Organized in 1871) from Brown County. The county was named for the Watonwan River. Translation of the Dakota word watanwan meaning "where fish bait bounds".

Watonwan County is bordered by Brown County (north), Blue Earth County (east), Martin County (south), Jackson County (southwest), Cottonwood County (west).

Watonwan County Cities and Towns include Butterfield, Darfur, La Salle, Lewisville, Madelia, Odin, Ormsby, St. James.

Watonwan County Townships include Adrian, Antrim, Butterfield, Fieldon, Long Lake, Madelia, Nelson, Odin, Riverdale, Rosendale, South Branch, St. James Townships.

A Map of Watonwan County, Minnesota contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Watonwan County, Minnesota Courthouse Records

Watonwan County, Minnesota Courthouse
  • Save

Watonwan County, MN Courthouse

The Watonwan County Courthouse is located in St. James, Minnesota. At some time Watonwan County was attached to Blue Earth County for county and or judicial purposes. Some early records may be found there. Courthouse burned before 1895. Some records were destroyed. Learn More About State of Minnesota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Watonwan county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Watonwan County Recorder has Birth / Death Records from 1870, Marriage Records from 1867 and Land Records from 1859. The County Recorder is responsible for all the real estate records for properties located in the County. Permanent records of deeds, mortgages and other various real estate records are recorded/filed in this office. As Local Registrar, the office protects and issues certified copies of Birth and Death records, Marriage Certificates & Military Discharge Records.
  • Watonwan County Court Administrator has Probate Records from 1890 and Court Records from 1885. The County Court Administrator maintains court files for Civil, Criminal, Traffic, Probate, Conciliation, Juvenile, Tax and Family Court matters.
  • Watonwan County Treasurers Office is responsible for keeping a complete accounting of all monies collected and expended by all the county departments. This includes the investing of available funds and accurately distributing the interest received. The department is also responsible for the collection of taxes and distribution to the various taxing entities within the County.

Watonwan County, Minnesota Census Records

Watonwan County, Minnesota Vital Records

Watonwan County, Minnesota Resources

Watonwan County, Minnesota External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save