Van Buren County, Michigan Records

Van Buren County, Michigan (Map It) was created on October 29, 1829 from unorganized territory . The county was named for Martin Van Buren (1782-1862): Secretary of State in the Jackson Administration, later Vice President and eighth President of the United States.

Van Buren County is bordered by Allegan County (northeast), Kalamazoo County (east), St. Joseph County (southeast), Cass County (south), Berrien County (southwest).

Van Buren County Cities, Towns & Villages include  Bangor, Gobles, Hartford, South Haven, Bloomingdale, Breedsville, Decatur, Lawrence, Lawton, Mattawan, Paw Paw.

Van Buren County Townships include  Almena, Antwerp, Arlington, Bangor, Bloomingdale, Columbia, Covert, Decatur, Geneva, Hamilton, Hartford, Keeler, Lawrence, Paw Paw, Pine Grove, Porter, South Haven Charter, Waverly.

A Map of Van Buren County, Michigan contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Van Buren County, Michigan Courthouse Records

Van Buren County, Michigan Courthouse
  • Save

Van Buren County, MI Courthouse

The Van Buren County Courthouse is located in Paw Paw, Michigan. Some early records  prior to organization on April 3, 1837 may be located in Cass County and Leeawee County. Learn More About State of Michigan Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Van Buren county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Van Buren County Clerk has Births & Deaths from 1867 and Marriage Records from 1836. The County Clerk is responsible for keeping records of births, deaths, assumed names, co-partnerships, issuing and filing marriage licenses, gun permits, notary bonds and processing passports. The date listed for each category of record is the earliest record known to exist in that county. It does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and certainly does not indicate that all such events that year were actually registered. See also Van Buren County Clerk Information for Genealogists
  • Van Buren County Register of Deeds has Land from 1836.The County Register of Deeds is the official recording officer for all legal documents pertaining to the transfers and encumbrances of all real estate property within the County. The Register also provides permanent storage for approved original subdivision plats, condominiums, land surveys and section corners.
  • Van Buren County Clerk of the Probate Court has Probate from 1837. The County Clerk of the Probate Court responsibilities include adjudicating and disposes of cases involving property of persons who have died or become incompetent, interprets wills and trusts, commits the mentally ill when necessary and appoints guardians and conservators for minors, incapacitated individuals and individuals with developmental disability.
  • Van Buren County Clerk of the Circuit Court has Court from 1844. The County Clerk of the Circuit Court provides a variety of functions for the court such as, but not limited to: filing and maintaing the official record for all cases that come before the court; providing staff to assist in the operation of the court; working with the Jury Commission and notifying all potential jurors to appear for jury duty; and, processing felony criminal cases bound over from the District Court.

Van Buren County, Michigan Census Records

Van Buren County, Michigan Vital Records

Van Buren County, Michigan Resources

Van Buren County, Michigan External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save