Ottawa County, Michigan Records

Ottawa County, Michigan (Map It) was created on March 2, 1831 from Mackinac County and unorganized territory . The county was named for the Native American Ottawa people.

Ottawa County is bordered by Muskegon County (north), Kent County (east), Allegan County (south).

Ottawa County Cities, Towns & Villages include  Coopersville, Ferrysburg, Grand Haven, Holland, Hudsonville, Zeeland, Spring Lake.

Ottawa County Townships include  Allendale Charter, Blendon, Chester, Crockery, Georgetown Charter, Grand Haven Charter, Holland Charter, Jamestown Charter, Olive, Park, Polkton Charter, Port Sheldon, Robinson, Spring Lake, Tallmadge Charter, Wright, Zeeland Charter.

A Map of Ottawa County, Michigan contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Ottawa County, Michigan Courthouse Records

Ottawa County, Michigan Courthouse
  • Save

Ottawa County, MI Courthouse

The Ottawa County Courthouse is located in Grand Haven, Michigan. Some early records  prior to organization on December 19, 1837 may be located in Kent County. Learn More About State of Michigan Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Ottawa county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Ottawa County Clerk has Births & Deaths from 1866 and Marriage Records from 1848. The County Clerk is responsible for keeping records of births, deaths, assumed names, co-partnerships, issuing and filing marriage licenses, gun permits, notary bonds and processing passports. The date listed for each category of record is the earliest record known to exist in that county. It does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and certainly does not indicate that all such events that year were actually registered. See also Ottawa County Clerk Information for Genealogists
  • Ottawa County Register of Deeds has Land from 1834.The County Register of Deeds is the official recording officer for all legal documents pertaining to the transfers and encumbrances of all real estate property within the County. The Register also provides permanent storage for approved original subdivision plats, condominiums, land surveys and section corners.
  • Ottawa County Clerk of the Probate Court has Probate from 1844. The County Clerk of the Probate Court responsibilities include adjudicating and disposes of cases involving property of persons who have died or become incompetent, interprets wills and trusts, commits the mentally ill when necessary and appoints guardians and conservators for minors, incapacitated individuals and individuals with developmental disability.
  • Ottawa County Clerk of the Circuit Court has Court from 1839. The County Clerk of the Circuit Court provides a variety of functions for the court such as, but not limited to: filing and maintaing the official record for all cases that come before the court; providing staff to assist in the operation of the court; working with the Jury Commission and notifying all potential jurors to appear for jury duty; and, processing felony criminal cases bound over from the District Court.

Ottawa County, Michigan Census Records

Ottawa County, Michigan Vital Records

Ottawa County, Michigan Resources

Ottawa County, Michigan External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save