Ingham County, Michigan Records

Ingham County, Michigan (Map It) was created on October 29, 1829 from Shiawassee County and Washtenaw County and unorganized territory. The county was named for Samuel D. Ingham (1779-1860), U.S. Secretary of the Treasury in the Jackson Administration.

Ingham County is bordered by Shiawassee County (northeast), Livingston County (east), Washtenaw County (southeast), Jackson County (south), Eaton County (west), Clinton County (northwest).

Ingham County Cities, Towns & Villages include  East Lansing, Lansing, Leslie, Mason, county seat, Williamston, Dansville, Stockbridge, Webberville.

Ingham County Townships include  Alaiedon, Aurelius, Bunker Hill, Delhi Charter, Ingham, Lansing Charter, Leroy, Leslie, Locke, Meridian Charter, Onondaga, Stockbridge, Vevay, Wheatfield, White Oak, Williamstown.

A Map of Ingham County, Michigan contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Ingham County, Michigan Courthouse Records

Ingham County, Michigan Courthouse
  • Save

Ingham County, MI Courthouse

The Ingham County Courthouse is located in Mason, Michigan. Some early records  prior to organization on June 4,1838 may be located in Washtenaw County. Learn More About State of Michigan Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Ingham county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Ingham County Clerk has Births & Deaths from 1867 and Marriage Records from 1837. The County Clerk is responsible for keeping records of births, deaths, assumed names, co-partnerships, issuing and filing marriage licenses, gun permits, notary bonds and processing passports. The date listed for each category of record is the earliest record known to exist in that county. It does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and certainly does not indicate that all such events that year were actually registered. See also Ingham County Clerk Information for Genealogists
  • Ingham County Register of Deeds has Land from 1835.The County Register of Deeds is the official recording officer for all legal documents pertaining to the transfers and encumbrances of all real estate property within the County. The Register also provides permanent storage for approved original subdivision plats, condominiums, land surveys and section corners.
  • Ingham County Clerk of the Probate Court has Probate from 1835. The County Clerk of the Probate Court responsibilities include adjudicating and disposes of cases involving property of persons who have died or become incompetent, interprets wills and trusts, commits the mentally ill when necessary and appoints guardians and conservators for minors, incapacitated individuals and individuals with developmental disability.
  • Ingham County Clerk of the Circuit Court has Court from 1839. The County Clerk of the Circuit Court provides a variety of functions for the court such as, but not limited to: filing and maintaing the official record for all cases that come before the court; providing staff to assist in the operation of the court; working with the Jury Commission and notifying all potential jurors to appear for jury duty; and, processing felony criminal cases bound over from the District Court.

Ingham County, Michigan Census Records

Ingham County, Michigan Vital Records

Ingham County, Michigan Resources

Ingham County, Michigan External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save