Eaton County, Michigan Records

Eaton County, Michigan (Map It) was created on October 29, 1829 from unorganized territory . The county was named for John Eaton (1790-1856): Secretary of War in the Jackson Administration.

Eaton County is bordered by Clinton County (northeast), Ingham County (east), Jackson County (southeast), Calhoun County (south), Barry County (west), Ionia County (northwest).

Eaton County Cities, Towns & Villages include  Charlotte, Eaton Rapids, Grand Ledge, Lansing (partial) Olivet, Potterville, Bellevue, Dimondale, Mulliken, Sunfield, Vermontville.

Eaton County Townships include  Bellevue, Benton, Brookfield, Carmel, Chester, Delta Charter, Eaton Rapids, Eaton, Hamlin, Kalamo, Oneida Charter, Roxand, Sunfield, Vermontville, Walton, Windsor Charter.

A Map of Eaton County, Michigan contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Eaton County, Michigan Courthouse Records

Eaton County, Michigan Courthouse
  • Save

Eaton County, MI Courthouse

The Eaton County Courthouse is located in Charlotte, Michigan. Some early records  prior to organization on December 29, 1837 may be located in St. Joseph County and Kalamazoo County. Learn More About State of Michigan Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Eaton county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Eaton County Clerk has Births & Deaths from 1867 and Marriage Records from 1838. The County Clerk is responsible for keeping records of births, deaths, assumed names, co-partnerships, issuing and filing marriage licenses, gun permits, notary bonds and processing passports. The date listed for each category of record is the earliest record known to exist in that county. It does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and certainly does not indicate that all such events that year were actually registered. See also Eaton County Clerk Information for Genealogists
  • Eaton County Register of Deeds has Land from 1835.The County Register of Deeds is the official recording officer for all legal documents pertaining to the transfers and encumbrances of all real estate property within the County. The Register also provides permanent storage for approved original subdivision plats, condominiums, land surveys and section corners.
  • Eaton County Clerk of the Probate Court has Probate from 1835. The County Clerk of the Probate Court responsibilities include adjudicating and disposes of cases involving property of persons who have died or become incompetent, interprets wills and trusts, commits the mentally ill when necessary and appoints guardians and conservators for minors, incapacitated individuals and individuals with developmental disability.
  • Eaton County Clerk of the Circuit Court has Court from 1832. The County Clerk of the Circuit Court provides a variety of functions for the court such as, but not limited to: filing and maintaing the official record for all cases that come before the court; providing staff to assist in the operation of the court; working with the Jury Commission and notifying all potential jurors to appear for jury duty; and, processing felony criminal cases bound over from the District Court.

Eaton County, Michigan Census Records

Eaton County, Michigan Vital Records

Eaton County, Michigan Resources

Eaton County, Michigan External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save