Brooks County, Georgia Records

Brooks County, Georgia (Map It) was created on December 11, 1858 from Lowndes County and Thomas County. Brooks County was named in honor of Captain Preston S. Brooks (1819 - 57), a hero of the Mexican-American War and Congressman from South Carolina.

Brooks County is bordered by  Cook County ( northeast), Lowndes County (east), Madison County, Florida, Jefferson County, Florida (southwest), Thomas County (west), Colquitt County.

A Map of Brooks County, Georgia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Brooks County, Georgia Courthouse Records

Brooks County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Save

Brooks County, GA Courthouse

The Brooks County Courthouse is located in Quitman, Georgia.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Brooks county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • History of Baker County, Georgia Courthouse
  • Brooks County Clerk of Superior Court has Land Records from 1857 and Court Records from 1859. The County Clerk of Superior Court has jurisdiction over cases for title to land and equity, felony cases, adoptions, divorces, child support and custody enforcement. The clerk also is tasked with recording deeds and maintaining the chain of title to all property in the county.
  • Brooks County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1859 and Probate Records from 1859.The County Clerk of Probate Court responsibilities include legal proceedings forh Wills, Estates, Guardianships of minor children, Involuntary Committals Hearings, Issuance of Marriage License, ect.. The county probate judge's office is the office where the most valuable genealogical records are created and maintained in the state of Georgia.
  • Brooks County Tax Digests are records scanned from microfilm in the Georgia Archives.
  • Brooks County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait. Contact the Clerk of Superior Court for Divorce Records and the Probate Judge for Marriage Records.

Brooks County, Georgia Census Records

Brooks County, Georgia Vital Records

Brooks County, Georgia Resources

Brooks County, Georgia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save