San Joaquin County, California Records

San Joaquin County, California (Map It) was created on  February 18, 1850 as one of the original 27 counties . San Joaquin County was named for the county takes its name from the San Joaquin River. In the early 1800s Lieutenant Moraga, commanding an expedition in the lower great Central Valley of California, gave the name of San Joaquin (meaning Saint Joachim) to a rivulet that springs from the Sierra Nevada mountains and empties into Buena Vista Lake

San Joaquin County is bordered by Stockton, Lathrop, Lodi, Manteca, Ripon, Tracy, Escalon .

San Joaquin County Cities and Towns include Stanislaus County (south & southeast), Alameda County (west), Contra Costa County (west), Sacramento County (north), Amador County (northeast), Calaveras County (east) .

Since its creation San Joaquin County boundries have changed to include these:

  • Most of San Joaquin County has been in the county since 1850.
  • Territory was in Sacramento County from 1850 to 1878 when it was added to San Joaquin County.
  • Territory which at one time was in San Joaquin County is now in Stanislaus County

San Joaquin County, California Courthouse Records

San Joaquin County, California Courthouse
  • Save

San Joaquin County, CA Courthouse
Old San Joaquin County, California Courthouse
  • Save

Old San Joaquin County Courthouse

The San Joaquin County Courthouse is located in Stockton, California. Land was later added from Sacramento County in 1878. Learn More About State of California Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Courthouse History - Of all the substantial buildings erected in the late-19th-century boom years in Stockton ("destined to become the Chicago of the West," according to one writer at the time), the courthouse was the most impressive. Among its many marvels was a gas well "providing heat and light without cost to taxpayers" and a statue of Justice atop a dome that rose 172 feet above the street. The building was demolished in 1961 to make room for a new courthouse.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research. Some early court records from the various courts may have been sent to the California State Archives. Besides court minutes and judgements, these records include tax lists, wills, deeds, estate inventories, and marriage bonds. The California State Archives has microfilm of selected county records, 1850–1919.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in San Joaquin county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk. Some counties encompass land settled in the eighteenth century; their records pre-date county formation. Land transactions and vital records recorded in the county are at the county recorder's office. The county clerk general has probate books and files from the county's superior court, civil court records, and naturalizations. Divorces may be in either place, depending on how filed.

  • San Joaquin County Recorder-Clerk has Birth / Death Records from 1850 / 1858, Marriage Records from 1850 and Land Records from 1850. The County Recorder-Clerk is s responsible for examination and recording of all documents presented for recording that deal with establishing ownership of land in the County or as required by statute; administers the real property transfer tax law and maintains a permanent record and indexes of all documents for public viewing plus providing certified copies requested by the public; recording of all lawful documents such as deeds, deeds of trust, judgments, liens, affidavits, Uniform Commercial Code Financial Statements, etc; and the filing of Births, Deaths, and Marriages.
  • San Joaquin County Clerk of Superior Court has Probate Records from 1850 and Court Records from 1851. The County Clerk of Superior Court has probate books and files from the county's superior court, civil court records, and naturalizations. Divorces may be here or in the Recorders Office, depending on how it was filed.
  • San Joaquin County County Treasurer / Tax Collector
  • Local Registrar of Births and Deaths, 1601 East Hazelton Avenue, Stockton, CA 95205 OR P. O. Box 2009, Stockton, CA 95201-2009; Office (209) 468-3404

San Joaquin County, California Census Records

San Joaquin County, California Vital Records

San Joaquin County, California Resources

San Joaquin County, California External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save