Kern County, California Records

Kern County, California (Map It) was created on April 2, 1866 from Tulare County and Los Angeles County . Kern County derived its name from the Kern River, which was named for Edward Kern, topographer of General John C. Fremont’s 1845 expedition

Kern County is bordered by Los Angeles County (south), Ventura County (south), Santa Barbara County (southwest), San Luis Obispo County (west), Kings County (northwest), Tulare County (north), Inyo County (northeast), San Bernardino County (east). .

Kern County Cities and Towns include Bakersfield, Delano, Arvin, California City, McFarland, Ridgecrest, Shafter, Tehachapi, Wasco, Maricopa, Taft .

Since its creation Kern County boundries have changed to include these:

Kern County, California Courthouse Records

Kern County, California Courthouse
  • Save

Kern County, CA Courthouse
Old Kern County, California Courthouse
  • Save

Old Kern County Courthouse

The Kern County Courthouse is located in Bakersfield, California. Land from San Luis Obispo County was added in 1866. Learn More About State of California Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

Courthouse History - When mining activity around Havilah began to subside, Kern's county seat was moved from the one-time boomtown to Bakersfield. The town's first courthouse was constructed in 1876 but soon proved inadequate for the growing county, and in 1896 it was reconstructed with additions that doubled the size of the original building. When a more modern courthouse was built across the street in 1912, the county sold the old courthouse to the City of Bakersfield for use as its city hall. Both the old and new courthouses were damaged in a 1952 earthquake and demolished. A cement-and-wrought iron fence that enclosed the 1896 courthouse now stands inside the entrance of the Kern County Museum.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research. Some early court records from the various courts may have been sent to the California State Archives. Besides court minutes and judgements, these records include tax lists, wills, deeds, estate inventories, and marriage bonds. The California State Archives has microfilm of selected county records, 1850–1919.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Kern county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk. Some counties encompass land settled in the eighteenth century; their records pre-date county formation. Land transactions and vital records recorded in the county are at the county recorder's office. The county clerk general has probate books and files from the county's superior court, civil court records, and naturalizations. Divorces may be in either place, depending on how filed.

  • Kern County Recorder-Clerk has Birth / Death Records from 1850, Marriage Records from 1850 and Land Records from 1850. The County Recorder-Clerk is s responsible for examination and recording of all documents presented for recording that deal with establishing ownership of land in the County or as required by statute; administers the real property transfer tax law and maintains a permanent record and indexes of all documents for public viewing plus providing certified copies requested by the public; recording of all lawful documents such as deeds, deeds of trust, judgments, liens, affidavits, Uniform Commercial Code Financial Statements, etc; and the filing of Births, Deaths, and Marriages.
  • Kern County Clerk of Superior Court has Probate Records from 1866 and Court Records from 1866. The County Clerk of Superior Court has probate books and files from the county's superior court, civil court records, and naturalizations. Divorces may be here or in the Recorders Office, depending on how it was filed.
  • Kern County County Treasurer / Tax Collector
  • Local Registrar of Births and Deaths, 1800 Mt. Vernon Ave., 1st Floor, Bakersfield, CA 93306; Office (661) 868-0335

Kern County, California Census Records

Kern County, California Vital Records

Kern County, California Resources

Kern County, California External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save