Montgomery County, Arkansas Records

Montgomery County, Arkansas (Map It) was created on December 9, 1842 and was formed from Hot Spring County. Parts of Montgomery County was used to form the following counties: Garland 1873.

Other county boundry changes occured when Lines following counties defined - Yell 2 January 1845, Perry 23 December 1846 and 21 December 1848, Hot Spring 27 December 1848, Polk 7 February 1859, Clark 24 April 1873, Pike 16 December 1874, Garland 23 February 1917, Scott County 21 February 1915. Montgomery County was named in honor of Richard Montgomery (1738–1775), an American general during the Revolutionary War.

Montgomery County is bordered by Yell County (north), Garland County (east), Hot Spring County (southeast), Clark County (southeast), Pike County (south), Polk County (west), Scott County (northwest).

Montgomery County Cities and Towns include Black Springs, Mount Ida, Norman, Oden.

A Map of Montgomery County, Arkansas contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries..

There is a collection of old Arizona maps at

Montgomery County, Arkansas Courthouse Records

Montgomery County, Arkansas Courthouse
  • Save

Montgomery County, AR Courthouse

The Montgomery County Courthouse is located in Mount Ida, Arkansas. It was reported the county court records complete from July 1845; "tax books for 1845 consist of 10 sheets of fooscap paper sewn together"; the records are complete from county organization to the present. Learn More About State of Arkansas Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Montgomery county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Montgomery County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1845, Land Records from 1845 and Divorce Records are maintained among the equity records (Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found  at the Arkansas Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court is the clerk of the circuit, chancery court, and juvenile court and usually acts as the ex-officio recorder of the county. The duties of the clerk are to maintain a record of all proceedings of the circuit, chancery and juvenile courts and to prepare the dockets for courts. They are also the ex-officio county recorder; and is responsible for recording deeds, mortgages, liens, and surety bonds, and many other orders and instruments which involve property within the county.
  • Montgomery County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1845 and has Probate Records from 1845. The County Clerk, as clerk to the probate court, the clerk files all instruments making them a matter of record in descendent estate cases, and swears in all witnesses in contested estates. The clerk, also in this capacity, maintains all records relative to adoptions and guardianship cases.
  • Montgomery County Assessor's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Montgomery County Health Department

Montgomery County, Arkansas Census Records

Montgomery County, Arkansas Vital Records

Montgomery County, Arkansas Resources

Montgomery County, Arkansas External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save