Scott County, Arkansas Records

Scott County, Arkansas (Map It) was created on November 5, 1833 and was formed from Crawford County and Pope County. Parts of Scott County was used to form the following counties: Logan County 1871, Sebastian 1851, Yell 1840.

Other county boundry changes occured when Boundaries defined 24 October 1835, line with Crawford defined 16 December 1838, part of Sebastian annexed 1 June 1861, line with Logan County changed 21 March 1873, part annexed to Logan County 2 March 1903, line with Montgomery changed 21 February 1925. Scott County was named in honor of Andrew Scott (1789–1841), a territorial judge .

Scott County is bordered by Sebastian County (northwest), Logan County (northeast), Yell County (east), Montgomery County (southeast), Polk County (south), Le Flore County, Oklahoma (west).

Scott County Cities and Towns include Mansfield, Waldron.

A Map of Scott County, Arkansas contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries..

There is a collection of old Arizona maps at

Scott County, Arkansas Courthouse Records

Scott County, Arkansas Courthouse
  • Save

Scott County, AR Courthouse

The Scott County Courthouse is located in Waldron, Arkansas. Arkansas History Commission sources show a courthouse fire in 1882 destroyed all records. Learn More About State of Arkansas Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Scott county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Scott County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1882, Land Records from 1882 and Divorce Records are maintained among the equity records (Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found  at the Arkansas Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court is the clerk of the circuit, chancery court, and juvenile court and usually acts as the ex-officio recorder of the county. The duties of the clerk are to maintain a record of all proceedings of the circuit, chancery and juvenile courts and to prepare the dockets for courts. They are also the ex-officio county recorder; and is responsible for recording deeds, mortgages, liens, and surety bonds, and many other orders and instruments which involve property within the county.
  • Scott County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1882 and has Probate Records from 1882. The County Clerk, as clerk to the probate court, the clerk files all instruments making them a matter of record in descendent estate cases, and swears in all witnesses in contested estates. The clerk, also in this capacity, maintains all records relative to adoptions and guardianship cases.
  • Scott County Assessor's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Scott County Health Department

Scott County, Arkansas Census Records

Scott County, Arkansas Vital Records

Scott County, Arkansas Resources

Scott County, Arkansas External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save