Crawford County, Arkansas Records

Crawford County, Arkansas (Map It) was created on October 18,1820 and was formed from Pulaski County. When Crawford County was created, it contained a large part of what is now the State of Oklahoma. Crawford County was named in honor of William H. Crawford (1772–1834), a politician who served as Secretary of the Treasury and Secretary of War.

Crawford County is bordered by Washington County (north), Madison County (northeast), Franklin County (east), Sebastian County (south), Le Flore County, Oklahoma (southwest), Sequoyah County, Oklahoma (west), Adair County, Oklahoma (northwest).

Crawford County Cities and Towns include Alma, Cedarville, Chester, Dyer, Kibler, Mountainburg, Mulberry, Rudy, Van Buren.

A Map of Crawford County, Arkansas contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries..

There is a collection of old Arizona maps at

Crawford County, Arkansas Courthouse Records

Crawford County, Arkansas Courthouse
  • Save

Crawford County, AR Courthouse

The Crawford County Courthouse is located in Van Buren, Arkansas. The records from 1818 to 1820 are on file at Little Rock. On March 23, 1877, the courthouse was destroyed by fire and all records were destroyed except those of the treasurer and a few deeds and mortgages. Since that date, however, the records are complete and are kept in fire-proof vaults. Learn More About State of Arkansas Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Crawford county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Crawford County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1877, Land Records from 1851 and Divorce Records are maintained among the equity records (Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found  at the Arkansas Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court is the clerk of the circuit, chancery court, and juvenile court and usually acts as the ex-officio recorder of the county. The duties of the clerk are to maintain a record of all proceedings of the circuit, chancery and juvenile courts and to prepare the dockets for courts. They are also the ex-officio county recorder; and is responsible for recording deeds, mortgages, liens, and surety bonds, and many other orders and instruments which involve property within the county.
  • Crawford County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1877 and has Probate Records from 1877. The County Clerk, as clerk to the probate court, the clerk files all instruments making them a matter of record in descendent estate cases, and swears in all witnesses in contested estates. The clerk, also in this capacity, maintains all records relative to adoptions and guardianship cases.
  • Crawford County Assessor's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Crawford County Health Department

Crawford County, Arkansas Census Records

Crawford County, Arkansas Vital Records

Crawford County, Arkansas Resources

Crawford County, Arkansas External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save