Washington County, Arkansas Records

Washington County, Arkansas (Map It) was created on October 17, 1828 and was formed from Crawford County and Lovely County. Parts of Washington County was used to form the following counties: Benton 1836, Madison 1836.

Other county boundry changes occured when Certain lands declared to be in Washington 26 October 1831, line with Crawford defined 24 November 1846 and changed 8 March 1833. Washington County was named in honor of George Washington (1732–1799), first president of the United States.

Washington County is bordered by Benton County (north), Madison County (east), Crawford County (south), Adair County, Oklahoma (west).

Washington County Cities and Towns include Elkins, Elm Springs, Farmington, Fayetteville, Goshen, Greenland, Johnson, Lincoln, Prairie Grove, Springdale, Tontitown, West Fork, Winslow.

A Map of Washington County, Arkansas contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries..

There is a collection of old Arizona maps at MapGeeks.org

Washington County, Arkansas Courthouse Records

Washington County, Arkansas Courthouse
  • Save

Washington County, AR Courthouse

The Washington County Courthouse is located in Fayetteville, Arkansas. County court records are complete from Aug. 3, 1835; probate records from Oct. 9, 1837; marriage records from 1845, except the record of the period between 1861 and 1864. Probate and will records, A and B, were stolen. During the War, Presley R. Smith, clerk, hid the county records in a dry case in the mountains south of Fayetteville to prevent their falling into the hands of the Federals. Only one record was thus lost. The records are in good condition and are kept in fire-proof vaults. Learn More About State of Arkansas Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Washington county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Washington County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1830, Land Records from 1834 and Divorce Records are maintained among the equity records (Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found  at the Arkansas Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court is the clerk of the circuit, chancery court, and juvenile court and usually acts as the ex-officio recorder of the county. The duties of the clerk are to maintain a record of all proceedings of the circuit, chancery and juvenile courts and to prepare the dockets for courts. They are also the ex-officio county recorder; and is responsible for recording deeds, mortgages, liens, and surety bonds, and many other orders and instruments which involve property within the county.
  • Washington County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1845 and has Probate Records from 1835. The County Clerk, as clerk to the probate court, the clerk files all instruments making them a matter of record in descendent estate cases, and swears in all witnesses in contested estates. The clerk, also in this capacity, maintains all records relative to adoptions and guardianship cases.
  • Washington County Assessor's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Washington County Health Department

Washington County, Arkansas Census Records

Washington County, Arkansas Vital Records

Washington County, Arkansas Resources

Washington County, Arkansas External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save