Lawrence County, Arkansas Records

Lawrence County, Arkansas (Map It) was created on January 15, 1815 and was formed from Arkansas County and New Madrid County, Missouri .Parts of Lawrence County was used to form the following counties: Greene 1833, Independence 1820, Randolph 1835, Sharp 1868.

Other county boundry changes occured when E boundary defined 30 October 1823, line with Independence changed 26 December 1840, part annexed to Fulton 18 January 1855, part to Randolph 18 January 1861, part annexed from Sharp 21 March 1917 and part annexed to Sharp 24 March 1917. Lawrence County was named in honor of James Lawrence (1781–1813), an American naval officer during the War of 1812.

Lawrence County is bordered by Randolph County (north), Greene County (east), Craighead County (southeast), Jackson County (south), Independence County (southwest), Sharp County (west).

Lawrence County Cities and Towns include Alicia, Black Rock, College City, Hoxie, Imboden, Lynn, Minturn, Portia, Powhatan, Ravenden, Sedgwick, Smithville, Strawberry, Walnut Ridge.

A Map of Lawrence County, Arkansas contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries..

There is a collection of old Arizona maps at

Lawrence County, Arkansas Courthouse Records

Lawrence County, Arkansas Courthouse
  • Save

Lawrence County, AR Courthouse

The Lawrence County Courthouse is located in Walnut Ridge, Arkansas. Records are mostly extant from county formation. Learn More About State of Arkansas Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Lawrence county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Lawrence County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1816, Land Records from 1815 and Divorce Records are maintained among the equity records (Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found  at the Arkansas Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court is the clerk of the circuit, chancery court, and juvenile court and usually acts as the ex-officio recorder of the county. The duties of the clerk are to maintain a record of all proceedings of the circuit, chancery and juvenile courts and to prepare the dockets for courts. They are also the ex-officio county recorder; and is responsible for recording deeds, mortgages, liens, and surety bonds, and many other orders and instruments which involve property within the county.
  • Lawrence County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1821 and has Probate Records from 1817. The County Clerk, as clerk to the probate court, the clerk files all instruments making them a matter of record in descendent estate cases, and swears in all witnesses in contested estates. The clerk, also in this capacity, maintains all records relative to adoptions and guardianship cases.
  • Lawrence County Assessor's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Lawrence County Health Department

Lawrence County, Arkansas Census Records

Lawrence County, Arkansas Vital Records

Lawrence County, Arkansas Resources

Lawrence County, Arkansas External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save