Independence County, Arkansas Records

Independence County, Arkansas (Map It) was created on October 20, 1820 and was formed from Arkansas County and Lawrence County. Parts of Independence County was used to form the following counties: Cleburne 1883, Izard 1825, Jackson 1829, Sharp 1873, Stone 1873, Van Buren 1833, White 1835.

Other county boundry changes occured when Part of E boundary defined 30 October 1823, part annexed to Izard 22 October 1828, line with Izard and Conway defined 4 November 1831, line with Jackson defined 8 November 1836, line with Izard defined 21 February and 14 December 1838 and 26 December 1840, line with Sharp defined 11 February 1875. Independence County was named for the The Declaration of Independence.

Independence County is bordered by Sharp County (north), Lawrence County (northeast), Jackson County (east), White County (south), Cleburne County (southwest), Stone County (west), Izard County (northwest).

Independence County Cities and Towns include Batesville, Cave City, Cushman, Magness, Moorefield, Newark, Oil Trough, Pleasant Plains, Sulphur Rock .

A Map of Independence County, Arkansas contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries..

There is a collection of old Arizona maps at

Independence County, Arkansas Courthouse Records

Independence County, Arkansas Courthouse
  • Save

Independence County, AR Courthouse

The Independence County Courthouse is located in Batesville, Arkansas. The following records are complete from the dates named: records of common pleas court, first held by two justices of the peace begin Nov. 19, 1821; records of deeds and mortgages begin with Dec. 14, 1820; all court records and records of the recorder's office are complete from these dates. No records are missing. The state of preservation is good; a number of the records have been rebound, but the writing is legible. They are kept in fire-proof vaults. Learn More About State of Arkansas Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Independence county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Independence County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1821, Land Records from 1820 and Divorce Records are maintained among the equity records (Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found  at the Arkansas Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court is the clerk of the circuit, chancery court, and juvenile court and usually acts as the ex-officio recorder of the county. The duties of the clerk are to maintain a record of all proceedings of the circuit, chancery and juvenile courts and to prepare the dockets for courts. They are also the ex-officio county recorder; and is responsible for recording deeds, mortgages, liens, and surety bonds, and many other orders and instruments which involve property within the county.
  • Independence County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1826 and has Probate Records from 1839. The County Clerk, as clerk to the probate court, the clerk files all instruments making them a matter of record in descendent estate cases, and swears in all witnesses in contested estates. The clerk, also in this capacity, maintains all records relative to adoptions and guardianship cases.
  • Independence County Assessor's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Independence County Health Department

Independence County, Arkansas Census Records

Independence County, Arkansas Vital Records

Independence County, Arkansas Resources

Independence County, Arkansas External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save