Jackson County, Arkansas Records

Jackson County, Arkansas (Map It) was created on  November 5, 1829 and was formed from Lawrence County and St. Francis County. Parts of Jackson County was used to form the following counties: White 1835, Woodruff 1862.

Other county boundry changes occured when Line with Independence defined 8 November 1836, part of St. Francis attached 10 January 1851. Jackson County was named in honor of Andrew Jackson (1767–1845), 7th President of the United States.

Jackson County is bordered by Lawrence County (north), Craighead County (northeast), Poinsett County (east), Cross County (southeast), Woodruff County (south), White County (southwest), Independence County (west).

Jackson County Cities and Towns include Amagon, Beedeville, Campbell Station, Diaz, Grubbs, Jacksonport, Newport, Possum_Grape, Swifton, Tuckerman, Tupelo, Weldon.

A Map of Jackson County, Arkansas contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries..

There is a collection of old Arizona maps at MapGeeks.org

Jackson County, Arkansas Courthouse Records

Jackson County, Arkansas Courthouse
  • Save

Jackson County, AR Courthouse

The Jackson County Courthouse is located in Newport, Arkansas. None of the records had ever been destroyed and were kept in fire-proof vaults. Learn More About State of Arkansas Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Jackson county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Jackson County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1830, Land Records from 1831 and Divorce Records are maintained among the equity records (Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found  at the Arkansas Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court is the clerk of the circuit, chancery court, and juvenile court and usually acts as the ex-officio recorder of the county. The duties of the clerk are to maintain a record of all proceedings of the circuit, chancery and juvenile courts and to prepare the dockets for courts. They are also the ex-officio county recorder; and is responsible for recording deeds, mortgages, liens, and surety bonds, and many other orders and instruments which involve property within the county.
  • Jackson County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1846 and has Probate Records from 1845. The County Clerk, as clerk to the probate court, the clerk files all instruments making them a matter of record in descendent estate cases, and swears in all witnesses in contested estates. The clerk, also in this capacity, maintains all records relative to adoptions and guardianship cases.
  • Jackson County Assessor's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Jackson County Health Department

Jackson County, Arkansas Census Records

Jackson County, Arkansas Vital Records

Jackson County, Arkansas Resources

Jackson County, Arkansas External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save