Clarke County, Alabama Records

Clarke County, Alabama (Map It) was created on December 10, 1812 from Washington County. Clarke county was named in honor of Gen. John Clarke of Georgia.

Clarke County is bordered by Marengo County (north), Wilcox County (northeast), Monroe County (east), Baldwin County (south), Washington County (southwest), Choctaw County (northwest).

Clarke County Cities and Towns include Jackson, Thomasville, Coffeeville, Fulton, Grove Hill.

A Map of Clarke County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. There is a collection of old Alabama maps at

Clarke County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Clarke County, Alabama Courthouse
  • Save

Clarke County, AL Courthouse

The Clarke County Courthouse is located in Grove Hill, Alabama. The Clarke County Seat was not established until 1820, when it was located at Clarksville. In 1831 the seat of government was moved to Grove Hill.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Clarke county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Clarke County, Alabama Census Records

Clarke County, Alabama Vital Records

Clarke County, Alabama Resources

Clarke County, Alabama External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save