Autauga County, Alabama (Map It) was created on November 21, 1818 from Montgomery County; by Act of December 13, 1820 the boundaries in the north and northwest were enlarged; on January 12 1827 the line between Autauga County and Shelby County was more definitely fixed. In 1866 part of its territory was taken to establish Elmore County. In 1868 another portion of the county was taken to establish Baker County, later known as Chilton County. Autauga County was named from the Indian village Atagi.

Autauga County is bordered by Chilton County (north), Elmore County (east), Montgomery County (southeast), Lowndes County (south), Dallas County (west).

Autauga County Cities and Towns include Autaugaville, Billingsley, Booth (unincorporated), Millbrook, Prattville, Marbury.

A Map of Autauga County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. There is a collection of old Alabama maps at

Autauga County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Autauga County, Alabama Courthouse
  • Save

Autauga County, AL Courthouse

The Autauga County Courthouse is located in Prattville, Alabama which is named after Daniel Pratt. The first Autauga County Courthouse in Prattville, which also housed the jail, was built in 1870. It was sold in 1905 to fund construction of the current courthouse, completed in 1906. The Autauga County Courthouse rests on the corner of 4th Street and Court Street in Prattville, which is the largest city in the county.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Autauga county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Autauga County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from 1831 and has Divorce Records from 1831. Divorce Records maintained among the equity records. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued prior to 1950 are located here. Divorces issued after 1950 can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health. The County Clerk of Circuit Court serves as custodian of all county court records, and is responsible for providing access to those court records by court personnel, the legal community and the public.
  • Autauga County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1829-1898, Probate Records from 1810 and Land Records from 1809.
  • Autauga County Assessor's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Autauga County Health Department has Births from Mar 1908-Feb 1916, delayed birth Cert. rec. 1871-1928; Death From Mar 1908-Feb 1916. 

Autauga County, Alabama Census Records

Autauga County, Alabama Vital Records

Autauga County vital records can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Health which has Birth And Death Records from 1908, Marriages from 1936 and Divorce Records from 1950. Please refer to the information to the Statewide Vital Records in Alabama for current fees and application process.

You can search online for Autauga County Birth, Marriage, Divorce or Death Records. You can also order Order Electronically Online or you can download an application for Birth, Marriage, Divorce or Death Certificates to mail.

External Links

Autauga County, Alabama External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save