Waukesha County, Wisconsin Records

Waukesha County, Wisconsin (Map It) was created on January 31, 1846 from Milwaukee County. The county was named after, a Pottawatomi word meaning "little foxes".

Waukesha County is bordered by Washington County (north), Ozaukee County (northeast), Milwaukee County (east), Racine County (southeast), Walworth County (southwest), Jefferson County (west), Dodge County (northwest).

Waukesha County Cities, Towns and Villiages include Brookfield, Delafield, Milwaukee, Muskego, New Berlin, Oconomowoc, Pewaukee, Waukesha, Brookfield, Delafield, Eagle, Genesee, Lisbon, Merton, Mukwonago, Oconomowoc, Ottawa, Summit, Waukesha, Vernon, Big Bend, Butler, Chenequa, Dousman, Eagle, Elm Grove, Hartland, Lac La Belle, Lannon, Menomonee Falls, Merton, Mukwonago, Nashotah, North Prairie, Pewaukee, Oconomowoc Lake, Sussex, Wales.

A Map of Waukesha County, Wisconsin contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Waukesha County, Wisconsin Courthouse Records

  • Save

Waukesha County, WI Courthouse

The Waukesha County Courthouse is located in Waukesha, Wisconsin. Learn More About State of Wisconsin Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

It has been estimated that less than 50 percent of the vital records, for example, were prepared and submitted for permanent filing prior to 1907. Land deeds, probate, and court records generally begin in Wisconsin with the organization of the county. Prior to that date, check the County or Counties it was created from. Some counties formed from other counties transcribed their portion of property deeds to be kept with the new county deed records.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Waukesha county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Waukesha County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1860, Marriage Records from 1846, Death Records from 1872 and Land Records from 1841. The purpose of the Register of Deeds is to provide official record keeping for Records or files land record documents authorized by law, such as deeds, mortgages, satisfactions, certified survey maps, plats and Federal Tax liens. Files and indexes Birth, Death and Marriage records, Military Discharges, and issues certified copies upon request.
  • Waukesha County Register in Probate Office has Probate Records from 1847. The Probate Office has the responsibility to maintain and update files regarding probate of estates, guardianships, protective placements, adoptions and mental commitments. This is a statutory office with the position of Register in Probate filled by judicial appointment.
  • Waukesha County Clerk of Court Office has Court Records from 1847. The Clerk of Court Office is required to maintain a record of all documents filed with the courts, keep a record of all court proceedings, and collect various fines and forfeitures ordered by the court and specified by statute.
  • Waukesha County Treasurers Office collects all real estate taxes including postponed and delinquent, all county revenues in addition to the research and issue tax deed applications. Our department is the holder of tax records and assessed values.

Waukesha County, Wisconsin Census Records

Waukesha County, Wisconsin Vital Records

Waukesha County, Wisconsin Resources

Waukesha County, Wisconsin External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save