Vernon County, Wisconsin Records

Vernon County, Wisconsin (Map It) was created on March 1, 1851 from Crawford County. The county was named after Mount Vernon, home of George Washington.Learn More About State of Wisconsin History

Vernon County is bordered by La Crosse County (north western), Monroe County (north), Juneau County (northeast), Sauk County (east), Richland County (southeast), Crawford County (south), Allamakee County, Iowa (southwest), Houston County, Minnesota (west).

Vernon County Cities, Towns and Villiages include Hillsboro, Viroqua, Westby, Bergen, Christiana, Clinton, Coon, Forest, Franklin, Genoa, Greenwood, Hamburg, Harmony, Hillsboro, Jefferson, Kickapoo, Liberty, Stark, Sterling, Union, Viroqua, Webster, Wheatland, Whitestown, Chaseburg, Coon Valley, De Soto, Genoa, La Farge, Ontario, Readstown, Stoddard, Viola.

A Map of Vernon County, Wisconsin contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Vernon County, Wisconsin Courthouse Records

  • Save

Vernon County, WI Courthouse

The Vernon County Courthouse is located in Viroqua, Wisconsin. Learn More About State of Wisconsin Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

It has been estimated that less than 50 percent of the vital records, for example, were prepared and submitted for permanent filing prior to 1907. Land deeds, probate, and court records generally begin in Wisconsin with the organization of the county. Prior to that date, check the County or Counties it was created from. Some counties formed from other counties transcribed their portion of property deeds to be kept with the new county deed records.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Vernon county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Vernon County Register of Deeds has Birth Records from 1863, Marriage Records from 1855, Death Records from 1878 and Land Records from 1851. The purpose of the Register of Deeds is to provide official record keeping for Records or files land record documents authorized by law, such as deeds, mortgages, satisfactions, certified survey maps, plats and Federal Tax liens. Files and indexes Birth, Death and Marriage records, Military Discharges, and issues certified copies upon request.
  • Vernon County Register in Probate Office has Probate Records from 1850. The Probate Office has the responsibility to maintain and update files regarding probate of estates, guardianships, protective placements, adoptions and mental commitments. This is a statutory office with the position of Register in Probate filled by judicial appointment.
  • Vernon County Clerk of Court Office has Court Records from 1853. The Clerk of Court Office is required to maintain a record of all documents filed with the courts, keep a record of all court proceedings, and collect various fines and forfeitures ordered by the court and specified by statute.
  • Vernon County Treasurers Office collects all real estate taxes including postponed and delinquent, all county revenues in addition to the research and issue tax deed applications. Our department is the holder of tax records and assessed values.

Vernon County, Wisconsin Census Records

Vernon County, Wisconsin Vital Records

Vernon County, Wisconsin Resources

Vernon County, Wisconsin External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save