Houston County, Minnesota Records

Houston County, Minnesota (Map It) was created on April 4, 1854 from Fillmore County. The county was named in honor of Sam Houston (1793–1863), member of Congress from Tennessee, 1823-27; governor of Tennessee, 1827-29; president of Texas, 1836-38, 1841-44; U. S. Senator from Texas, 1845-59; governor of Texas, 1859-61.

Houston County is bordered by Winona County (north), La Crosse County, Wisconsin (northeast), Vernon County, Wisconsin (east), Allamakee County, Iowa (south), Winneshiek County, Iowa (southwest), Fillmore County (west).

Houston County Cities and Towns include Brownsville, Caledonia, Eitzen, Hokah, Houston, La Crescent, Spring Grove.

Houston County Townships include Black Hammer, Brownsville, Caledonia, Crooked Creek, Hokah, Houston, Jefferson, La Crescent, Mayville, Money Creek, Mound Prairie, Sheldon, Spring Grove, Union, Wilmington, Winnebago, Yucatan Townships.

A Map of Houston County, Minnesota contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Houston County, Minnesota Courthouse Records

Houston County, Minnesota Courthouse
  • Save

Houston County, MN Courthouse

The Houston County Courthouse is located in Caledonia, Minnesota. Learn More About State of Minnesota Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Houston county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Houston County Recorder has Birth / Death Records from 1870, Marriage Records from 1854 and Land Records from 1856. The County Recorder is responsible for all the real estate records for properties located in the County. Permanent records of deeds, mortgages and other various real estate records are recorded/filed in this office. As Local Registrar, the office protects and issues certified copies of Birth and Death records, Marriage Certificates & Military Discharge Records.
  • Houston County Court Administrator has Probate Records from 1867 and Court Records from 1857. The County Court Administrator maintains court files for Civil, Criminal, Traffic, Probate, Conciliation, Juvenile, Tax and Family Court matters.
  • Houston County Treasurers Office is responsible for keeping a complete accounting of all monies collected and expended by all the county departments. This includes the investing of available funds and accurately distributing the interest received. The department is also responsible for the collection of taxes and distribution to the various taxing entities within the County.

Houston County, Minnesota Census Records

Houston County, Minnesota Vital Records

Houston County, Minnesota Resources

Houston County, Minnesota External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save