Whatcom County, Washington Records

Whatcom County, Washington (Map It) was created on March 09, 1854 from Island County. The county was named for the Nooksack word meaning "noisy water". The first settlers in the county arrived in 1852 and began cutting lumber for the San Francisco market. In 1855 Captain George Pickett defended the early settlers from Indian attacks. By the turn of the century Bellingham was an important salmon processing, lumber manufacturing and export center. Today Whatcom County has a varied economic base led by wood products, manufacturing, food processing, mining and dairying. Western Washington University is a center for higher education in northern Washington. .

Whatcom County is bordered by Okanogan County (east), Skagit County (south), San Juan County (southwest).

Whatcom County Cities and Towns include Bellingham, Lynden, Ferndale, Blaine, Everson, Sumas, Nooksack..

A Map of Whatcom County, Washington contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Whatcom County, Washington Courthouse Records

Whatcom County, Washington Courthouse
  • Save

Whatcom County, WA Courthouse

The Whatcom County Courthouse is located in Bellingham, Washington. Learn More About State of Washington Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research. Although originally held in the county seat, many county land, probate, and court records have been transferred to the state archive's regional branches.

The Whatcom County record dates below are from the earliest date to present time. They may include records of land, estates, taxes, vital records, divorces, naturalizations, voter registration, court records, and so forth.

  • Whatcom County Auditor has Birth and Death Records from 1891 to 1907, Marriage Records from 1854 and Land Records from 1854 . The County Auditor has many responsibilities which include the recording of real property documents such as deeds and other recorded documents, issuing various licenses such as marriage liscense.
  • Whatcom County Clerk has Court Records from 1872 and Probate Records from 1883. The County Clerk is the administrator of the Superior Court Clerk's Office. The Clerk's Office is responsible for keeping the permanent records of all cases filed in Superior Court. The type of cases filed are felony criminal cases, civil lawsuits, petitions for protection from domestic violence, family law matters (dissolutions 3rd Party Custody, parenting plans, modifications) probates, guardianships, Last Will & Testaments, paternities, adoptions and mental commitments. For judicial purposes, many of the Washington counties were attached to other counties.
  • Whatcom County Treasurer is the property tax collector for the County. Property Taxes are levied on the property by the various taxing authorities based on the valuation and current property usage as set by the Assessor's Office.
  • The Whatcom County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait.

Whatcom County, Washington Census Records

Whatcom County, Washington Vital Records

Whatcom County, Washington Resources

Whatcom County, Washington External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save