Skagit County, Washington Records

Skagit County, Washington (Map It) was created on November 28, 1883 from Whatcom County. The county was named for the Skagit Native American tribe. The county has been settled since 1859; however gold strikes in the 1870’s brought in miners who later took up logging and farming after the gold gave out. In 1889 the introduction of a railroad into the county helped to increase its population. Today, Skagit County has a rich and diverse economic base. It is one of the state’s most productive vegetable and berry growing areas. Dairying and poultry raising are important economic activities and the county is also a producer of cement, steel and wood products. .

Skagit County is bordered by Whatcom County (north), Okanogan County (east), Chelan County (southeast), Snohomish County (south), Island County (southwest), San Juan County (west).

Skagit County Cities and Towns include Alger, Bay View, Big Lake, Clear Lake, Conway, Edison, Lake Cavanaugh, Lake McMurray, Marblemount, Rockport..

A Map of Skagit County, Washington contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Skagit County, Washington Courthouse Records

Skagit County, Washington Courthouse
  • Save

Skagit County, WA Courthouse

The Skagit County Courthouse is located in Mount Vernon, Washington. Learn More About State of Washington Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research. Although originally held in the county seat, many county land, probate, and court records have been transferred to the state archive's regional branches.

The Skagit County record dates below are from the earliest date to present time. They may include records of land, estates, taxes, vital records, divorces, naturalizations, voter registration, court records, and so forth.

  • Skagit County Auditor has Birth and Death Records from 1891 to 1907, Marriage Records from 1891 and Land Records from 1872 . The County Auditor has many responsibilities which include the recording of real property documents such as deeds and other recorded documents, issuing various licenses such as marriage liscense.
  • Skagit County Clerk has Court Records from 1884 and Probate Records from 1878 . The County Clerk is the administrator of the Superior Court Clerk's Office. The Clerk's Office is responsible for keeping the permanent records of all cases filed in Superior Court. The type of cases filed are felony criminal cases, civil lawsuits, petitions for protection from domestic violence, family law matters (dissolutions 3rd Party Custody, parenting plans, modifications) probates, guardianships, Last Will & Testaments, paternities, adoptions and mental commitments. For judicial purposes, many of the Washington counties were attached to other counties.
  • Skagit County Treasurer is the property tax collector for the County. Property Taxes are levied on the property by the various taxing authorities based on the valuation and current property usage as set by the Assessor's Office.
  • The Skagit County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait.

Skagit County, Washington Census Records

Skagit County, Washington Vital Records

Skagit County, Washington Resources

Skagit County, Washington External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save