Chelan County, Washington Records

Chelan County, Washington (Map It) was created on March 13, 1899 from Okanogan County and Kittitas County. The county was named in honor of a Native American word meaning "deep water", likely referring to Lake Chelan. Fur traders first visited the county in 1811. Later, Catholic missionaries established themselves in the Wenatchee Valley. The development of the county in the nineteenth century was closely linked to the Northern Pacific and Great Northern railroads.. Today the county is a major apple and fruit growing center while the wood products industry, mining and tourism also contribute to its economy. .

Chelan County is bordered by Okanogan County (northeast), Douglas County (east), Kittitas County (south), King County (southwest), Snohomish County (west), Skagit County (northwest).

Chelan County Cities and Towns include Cashmere (2,843), Chelan (3,993), Entiat (1,043), Leavenworth (2,324), South Wenatchee (2,118), Sunnyslope (2,672), Wenatchee (29,898), West Wenatchee (1,782).

A Map of Chelan County, Washington contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Chelan County, Washington Courthouse Records

Chelan County, Washington Courthouse
  • Save

Chelan County, WA Courthouse

The Chelan County Courthouse is located in Wenatchee, Washington. Learn More About State of Washington Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research. Although originally held in the county seat, many county land, probate, and court records have been transferred to the state archive's regional branches.

The Chelan County record dates below are from the earliest date to present time. They may include records of land, estates, taxes, vital records, divorces, naturalizations, voter registration, court records, and so forth.

  • Chelan County Auditor has Birth and Death Records from 1899 to 1907, Marriage Records from 1900 and Land Records from 1882. The County Auditor has many responsibilities which include the recording of real property documents such as deeds and other recorded documents, issuing various licenses such as marriage liscense.
  • Chelan County Clerk has Court Records from 1888 and Probate Records from 1876 . The County Clerk is the administrator of the Superior Court Clerk's Office. The Clerk's Office is responsible for keeping the permanent records of all cases filed in Superior Court. The type of cases filed are felony criminal cases, civil lawsuits, petitions for protection from domestic violence, family law matters (dissolutions 3rd Party Custody, parenting plans, modifications) probates, guardianships, Last Will & Testaments, paternities, adoptions and mental commitments. For judicial purposes, many of the Washington counties were attached to other counties.
  • Chelan County Treasurer is the property tax collector for the County. Property Taxes are levied on the property by the various taxing authorities based on the valuation and current property usage as set by the Assessor's Office.
  • The Chelan Douglas Health District can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait.

Chelan County, Washington Census Records

Chelan County, Washington Vital Records

Chelan County, Washington Resources

Chelan County, Washington External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save