King County, Washington Records

King County, Washington (Map It) was created on December 22, 1852 from Thurston County. The county was named in honor of William R. King (1786–1853), U.S. Vice President under Franklin Pierce; officially renamed in 1986 after Martin Luther King, Jr. (1929–1968). The first settlements in the county were the donation land claims of Luther Collins, Henry Van Asselt, and Jacob Maple in September of 1851 in the Duwamish Valley area of present day Seattle. This settlement was followed in November by one led by David Denny and Leander Terry at Alki Pont. The next year the Denny-Terry settlers moved to a better location for loading lumber on the east side of Elliott Bay and named the settlement Seattle after the friendly chief of the Duwamish Indians. The next year Henry Yesler set up the first steam sawmill on Puget Sound. .

King County is bordered by Snohomish County (north), Chelan County (northeast), Kittitas County (southeast), Pierce County (south), Kitsap County (west).

King County Cities and Towns include Ames Lake, Baring, Bryn Mawr-Skyway, Cascade-Fairwood, Cottage Lake, East Hill-Meridian, East Renton Highlands, Eastgate, Fall City, Hobart, Inglewood-Finn Hill, Kingsgate, Lake Marcel-Stillwater, Lake Morton-Berrydale, Lakeland North, Lakeland South, Maple Heights-Lake Desire, Mirrormont, Ravensdale, Riverbend, Riverton-Boulevard Park, Tanner, Union Hill-Novelty Hill, Vashon, West Lake Sammamish, White Center..

A Map of King County, Washington contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

King County, Washington Courthouse Records

King County, Washington Courthouse
  • Save

King County, WA Courthouse

The King County Courthouse is located in Seattle, Washington. Learn More About State of Washington Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research. Although originally held in the county seat, many county land, probate, and court records have been transferred to the state archive's regional branches.

The King County record dates below are from the earliest date to present time. They may include records of land, estates, taxes, vital records, divorces, naturalizations, voter registration, court records, and so forth.

  • King County Recorder's has Birth and Death Records from 1891 to 1907, Marriage Records from 1866 and Land Records from 1853 . The County Auditor has many responsibilities which include the recording of real property documents such as deeds and other recorded documents, issuing various licenses such as marriage liscense.
  • King County Clerk has Court Records from 1854 and Probate Records from 1864. The County Clerk is the administrator of the Superior Court Clerk's Office. The Clerk's Office is responsible for keeping the permanent records of all cases filed in Superior Court. The type of cases filed are felony criminal cases, civil lawsuits, petitions for protection from domestic violence, family law matters (dissolutions 3rd Party Custody, parenting plans, modifications) probates, guardianships, Last Will & Testaments, paternities, adoptions and mental commitments. For judicial purposes, many of the Washington counties were attached to other counties.
  • King County Treasurer is the property tax collector for the County. Property Taxes are levied on the property by the various taxing authorities based on the valuation and current property usage as set by the Assessor's Office.
  • The Seattle & King County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait.

King County, Washington Census Records

King County, Washington Vital Records

King County, Washington Resources

King County, Washington External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save