Kittitas County, Washington Records

Kittitas County, Washington (Map It) was created on November 24, 1883 from Yakima County. The county was named for the Kittitas tribe word of uncertain meaning, with popular translations ranging from "white chalk" to "land of the plenty". Europeans first visited the county in 1812 when members of the Pacific Fur Company passed through the region. Prior to the Civil War, Captain George McClellan supervised military road construction through the county. .

Kittitas County is bordered by Chelan County (north), Douglas County (northeast), Grant County (east), Yakima County (south), Pierce County (west), King County (northwest).

Kittitas County Cities and Towns include Cle Elum, Easton, Ellensburg, Kittitas, Ronald, Roslyn, Snoqualmie Pass, South Cle Elum, Thorp, Vantage..

A Map of Kittitas County, Washington contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Kittitas County, Washington Courthouse Records

Kittitas County, Washington Courthouse
  • Save

Kittitas County, WA Courthouse

The Kittitas County Courthouse is located in Ellensburg, Washington. Learn More About State of Washington Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research. Although originally held in the county seat, many county land, probate, and court records have been transferred to the state archive's regional branches.

The Kittitas County record dates below are from the earliest date to present time. They may include records of land, estates, taxes, vital records, divorces, naturalizations, voter registration, court records, and so forth.

  • Kittitas County Auditor has Birth and Death Records from 1872 to 1907, Marriage Records from 1882 and Land Records from 1882 . The County Auditor has many responsibilities which include the recording of real property documents such as deeds and other recorded documents, issuing various licenses such as marriage liscense.
  • Kittitas County Clerk has Court Records from 1884 and Probate Records from 1884 . The County Clerk is the administrator of the Superior Court Clerk's Office. The Clerk's Office is responsible for keeping the permanent records of all cases filed in Superior Court. The type of cases filed are felony criminal cases, civil lawsuits, petitions for protection from domestic violence, family law matters (dissolutions 3rd Party Custody, parenting plans, modifications) probates, guardianships, Last Will & Testaments, paternities, adoptions and mental commitments. For judicial purposes, many of the Washington counties were attached to other counties.
  • Kittitas County Treasurer is the property tax collector for the County. Property Taxes are levied on the property by the various taxing authorities based on the valuation and current property usage as set by the Assessor's Office.
  • The Kittitas County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait.

Kittitas County, Washington Census Records

Kittitas County, Washington Vital Records

Kittitas County, Washington Resources

Kittitas County, Washington External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save