Thurston County, Washington Records

Thurston County, Washington (Map It) was created on January 12, 1852 from Lewis County. The county was named in honor of Samuel Thurston (1815–1851), the Oregon Territory's first delegate to U.S. Congress. The first American settlement north of the Columbia River was established in the county in 1845 at Tumwater, along with the first industry, a gristmill established the next year. In 1853 Governor Isaac Stevens proclaimed Olympia the Territorial capital, and the first Washington Territorial legislature met here in 1854. Today, Thurston County, in addition to having the seat of government at Olympia, bases its economy on wood products manufacturing, dairying and poultry raising. The Port of Olympia continues to grow in importance as an exporter of wood products. .

Thurston County is bordered by Pierce County (northeast), Lewis County (south), Grays Harbor County (west), Mason County (northwest).

Thurston County Cities and Towns include Bucoda, Grand Mound, Lacey, Nisqually Indian Community, North Yelm, Olympia, Rainier, Rochester, Tanglewilde-Thompson Place, Tenino, Tumwater, Yelm..

A Map of Thurston County, Washington contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Thurston County, Washington Courthouse Records

Thurston County, Washington Courthouse
  • Save

Thurston County, WA Courthouse

The Thurston County Courthouse is located in Olympia, Washington. Learn More About State of Washington Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research. Although originally held in the county seat, many county land, probate, and court records have been transferred to the state archive's regional branches.

The Thurston County record dates below are from the earliest date to present time. They may include records of land, estates, taxes, vital records, divorces, naturalizations, voter registration, court records, and so forth.

  • Thurston County Auditor has Birth and Death Records from 1891 to 1907, Marriage Records from 1877 and Land Records from 1852. The County Auditor has many responsibilities which include the recording of real property documents such as deeds and other recorded documents, issuing various licenses such as marriage liscense.
  • Thurston County Clerk has Court Records from 1853 and Probate Records from 1852. The County Clerk is the administrator of the Superior Court Clerk's Office. The Clerk's Office is responsible for keeping the permanent records of all cases filed in Superior Court. The type of cases filed are felony criminal cases, civil lawsuits, petitions for protection from domestic violence, family law matters (dissolutions 3rd Party Custody, parenting plans, modifications) probates, guardianships, Last Will & Testaments, paternities, adoptions and mental commitments. For judicial purposes, many of the Washington counties were attached to other counties.
  • Thurston County Treasurer is the property tax collector for the County. Property Taxes are levied on the property by the various taxing authorities based on the valuation and current property usage as set by the Assessor's Office.
  • The Thurston County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait.

Thurston County, Washington Census Records

Thurston County, Washington Vital Records

Thurston County, Washington Resources

Thurston County, Washington External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save