Mason County, Washington Records

Mason County, Washington (Map It) was created on December 22, 1854 from King County. The county was named in honor of Charles H. Mason (1830–1859), 1st Secretary of Washington Territory. Much of the county's early history centered around road building as the early settlers were forced to cut through heavy stands of timber to gain access to trading centers. Today,Mason County's primary economic activity is in the production of wood products and logging. .

Mason County is bordered by Jefferson County (northwest), Kitsap County (northeast), Pierce County (southeast), Thurston County (southeast), Grays Harbor County (southwest).

Mason County Cities and Towns include Allyn-Grapeview, Shelton, Kamilche, Skokomish..

A Map of Mason County, Washington contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Mason County, Washington Courthouse Records

Mason County, Washington Courthouse
  • Save

Mason County, WA Courthouse

The Mason County Courthouse is located in Shelton, Washington. Learn More About State of Washington Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research. Although originally held in the county seat, many county land, probate, and court records have been transferred to the state archive's regional branches.

The Mason County record dates below are from the earliest date to present time. They may include records of land, estates, taxes, vital records, divorces, naturalizations, voter registration, court records, and so forth.

  • Mason County Auditor has Birth and Death Records from 1891 to 1907, Marriage Records from 1892 and Land Records from 1856 . The County Auditor has many responsibilities which include the recording of real property documents such as deeds and other recorded documents, issuing various licenses such as marriage liscense.
  • Mason County Clerk has Court Records from 1871 and Probate Records from 1889 . The County Clerk is the administrator of the Superior Court Clerk's Office. The Clerk's Office is responsible for keeping the permanent records of all cases filed in Superior Court. The type of cases filed are felony criminal cases, civil lawsuits, petitions for protection from domestic violence, family law matters (dissolutions 3rd Party Custody, parenting plans, modifications) probates, guardianships, Last Will & Testaments, paternities, adoptions and mental commitments. For judicial purposes, many of the Washington counties were attached to other counties.
  • Mason County Treasurer is the property tax collector for the County. Property Taxes are levied on the property by the various taxing authorities based on the valuation and current property usage as set by the Assessor's Office.
  • The Mason County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait.

Mason County, Washington Census Records

Mason County, Washington Vital Records

Mason County, Washington Resources

Mason County, Washington External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save