Columbia County, Washington Records

Columbia County, Washington (Map It) was created on November 11, 1875 from Walla Walla County. The county was named for the Columbia River. In 1806 the Lewis and Clark expedition crossed the county and later in the century, in the year 1860, the residents of the county witnessed the first steam navigation of the Snake River. Today Columbia County bases its economy on agriculture, with wheat and vegetable production leading its output. .

Columbia County is bordered by Whitman County (north), Garfield County (east), Wallowa County, Oregon (southeast), Umatilla County, Oregon (southwest), Walla Walla County (west), Franklin County (northwest).

Columbia County Cities and Towns include Dayton, Starbuck.

A Map of Columbia County, Washington contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Columbia County, Washington Courthouse Records

Columbia County, Washington Courthouse
  • Save

Columbia County, WA Courthouse

The Columbia County Courthouse is located in Dayton, Washington. Learn More About State of Washington Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research. Although originally held in the county seat, many county land, probate, and court records have been transferred to the state archive's regional branches.

The Columbia County record dates below are from the earliest date to present time. They may include records of land, estates, taxes, vital records, divorces, naturalizations, voter registration, court records, and so forth.

  • Columbia County Auditor has Birth and Death Records from 1891 to 1907, Marriage Records from 1876 and Land Records from 1864. The County Auditor has many responsibilities which include the recording of real property documents such as deeds and other recorded documents, issuing various licenses such as marriage liscense.
  • Columbia County Clerk has Court Records from 1878 and Probate Records from 1874 . The County Clerk is the administrator of the Superior Court Clerk's Office. The Clerk's Office is responsible for keeping the permanent records of all cases filed in Superior Court. The type of cases filed are felony criminal cases, civil lawsuits, petitions for protection from domestic violence, family law matters (dissolutions 3rd Party Custody, parenting plans, modifications) probates, guardianships, Last Will & Testaments, paternities, adoptions and mental commitments. For judicial purposes, many of the Washington counties were attached to other counties.
  • Columbia County Treasurer is the property tax collector for the County. Property Taxes are levied on the property by the various taxing authorities based on the valuation and current property usage as set by the Assessor's Office.
  • The Columbia County Health Department can issue Birth, Marriage and Death certificates while you wait.

Columbia County, Washington Census Records

Columbia County, Washington Vital Records

Columbia County, Washington Resources

Columbia County, Washington External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save