Wallowa County, Oregon Records

Wallowa County, Oregon (Map It) was created on February 11, 1887 from the eastern portion of Union County. The county was named for the Nez Perce word wallowa to designate a tripod of poles used to support fish nets. The area was claimed by the Chief Joseph band of the Nez Perce as its hunting and fishing grounds ..

Wallowa County is bordered by Umatilla County (west), Union County (west), Baker County (south), Adams County, Idaho (southeast), Idaho County, Idaho (east), Nez Perce County, Idaho (northeast), Asotin County, Washington (north), Garfield County, Washington (north), Columbia County, Washington (north).

Wallowa County Cities and Towns include Enterprise, Joseph, Lostine, Wallowa.

A Map of Wallowa County, Oregon contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Wallowa County, Oregon Courthouse Records

Wallowa County, Oregon Courthouse
  • Save

Wallowa County, OR Courthouse

The Wallowa County Courthouse is located in Enterprise, Oregon. Learn More About State of Oregon Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Wallowa county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Wallowa County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1879 and Land Records from 1875. The County Clerk has many duties which include vital statistics (births, deaths, marriage) and keeps a permanent public record of real estate transactions.
  • Wallowa County Circuit Court Clerk has Court Records from 1886 and Probate Records from 1887. The County Circuit Court Clerk has general jurisdiction over all civil and criminal cases, and typically handle cases beyond the jurisdiction of other courts. Circuit Courts also handle divorce, child custody, disputes over title to land, probate matters, juvenile cases, guardianship, adoption, involuntary commitment, and requests for injunctions.
  • Wallowa County Records Inventory The Oregon Historical County Records Guide includes descriptions and listings for each type of record in the inventory. Each series description includes a title and a description of how the records are used (function); types of records that may be included in each category (physical content); type of information that may be found (informational content)

Wallowa County, Oregon Census Records

Wallowa County, Oregon Vital Records

Wallowa County, Oregon Resources

Wallowa County, Oregon External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save