Wayne County, Nebraska Records

Wayne County, Nebraska (Map It) was created on March 04, 1871 from Unorganized area of the Nebraska Territory. The county was named in honor of Anthony Wayne, the American Revolutionary War general nicknamed "Mad Anthony" by his troops.

Wayne County is bordered by Dixon County  (northeast), Thurston County  (east), Cuming County  (southeast), Stanton County  (south), Pierce County  (west), Cedar County  (north).

Wayne County Cities and Towns include Carroll, Hoskins, Sholes, Wakefield, Wayne, Winside.

Wayne County Precincts include Brenna, Chapin, Deer Creek, Garfield, Hancock, Hoskins, Hunter, Logan, Leslie, Plum Creek, Sherman, Strahan, Wilbur.

A Map of Wayne County, Nebraska contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Wayne County, Nebraska Courthouse Records

Wayne County, Nebraska Courthouse
  • Save

Wayne County, NE Courthouse

The Wayne County Courthouse is located in Wayne, Nebraska. Learn More About State of Nebraska Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Wayne county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Wayne County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1871. The County Clerk is responsible for Marriage Licenses and can also be expected to hold delayed birth registrations. Other records of interest to the researcher include military discharges, voter registrations, estray notices, marks and brands, physician’s registers, farm and ranch names, and school registers.
  • Wayne County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1871. The County Register of Deeds is responsible for maintaining and securing the land records of the county. The duties include preserving of old land records and maintaining records that have been recorded which include, warranty deeds, mortgages, deeds of trust, plats and any other documents that affect a specific piece of land in the county.
  • Wayne Clerk of Courts has Probate Records from 1871 and Court Records from 1869. The Clerk of Courts duties include misdemeanor cases, including preliminary hearing in felony cases, civil cases involving less than $45,000, small claims involving less than 1869,400, probate, guardianship, conservatorship, adoption, and eminent domain and function as juvenile courts.

Wayne County, Nebraska Census Records

Wayne County, Nebraska Vital Records

Wayne County, Nebraska Resources

Wayne County, Nebraska External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save